Linn County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Linn County
Guide to Linn County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Linn County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 6, 1837 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Linneus |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Linn County Courthouse 108 N High Linneus, MO 64653 Phone: 660.895.5417 Linn County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has incomplete birth and death records 1883-1888;
County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1842;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records 1837; Probate Office has
probate records from 1840[1]
History
Parent County
1837--Linn County was created 6 January 1837 from Chariton County. County seat: Linneus [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Linn County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
rootsweb has a great list of Linn County cemeteries with directions.
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~molinn/lccem.html
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
The history of Linn county, Missouri: An encyclopedia of useful information (1882) is available online free from Google Books.
Maps
- Family Maps of Linn County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Linn County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Linn County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
Military
Newspapers
- The Archives of The Chillicothe Constitution Tribune (1889-2009) provides free access to their newspapers online. Their newspapers covered local news that included residents from Linn County communities.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
- 1817-1907 - Linn County Birth Index 1817-1907. Batch C515457 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1857-1885 - Linn County Birth Index, Volumes 2A and 2B, 1857-1885. Batch C515381 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875-1887 - Linn County Birth Index, Volume 1, etc., 1875-1887. Batch C515458 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1857-1885 - Linn County Marriage Books 2A and 2B Index 1857-1885. Batch M515381 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1885 - Linn County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515382 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883-1887 - Linn County Death Index 1883-1887. Batch B515458 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 April 2013, at 17:14.
- This page has been accessed 1,582 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
