Liberty County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Liberty County
Guide to Liberty County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Liberty County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 11, 1920 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Chester |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Liberty County Courthouse 111 1st Street East Chester, MT 59522 Phone: 406.759.5365 Liberty County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 11 February 1920 from Chouteau and Hill
- County seat: Chester [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Chouteau | Hill | Pondera | Toole
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Chester Cemetery – located N W across the railroad tracks. Call the Clerk and Recorder's office 406-759-5365.
- Chester Cemetery – located N W across the railroad tracks. Call the Clerk and Recorder's office 406-759-5365.
- Joplin Cemetery – located S E of Joplin. Call the Clerk and Recorder's office 406-759-5365.
- Erickson Cemetery – located about 15 miles south of Chester. Call the Clerk and Recorder's office 406-759-5365.
- Whitlash Cemetery – located at Whitlash. Call the Clerk and Recorder's office 406-759-5365.
Church Records
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death and land records from 1902 Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1920, divorce, probate, div, and court records[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Liberty County Library 110 First East, Chester, MT 59522. Phone 406–759–5445
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Chester | Joplin | Lothair | Whitlash |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2013, at 20:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,289 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
