Leintwardine with Adforton, HerefordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Herefordshire
Herefordshire Parishes
Contents |
Part of this parish is in Shropshire. See also Leintwardine with Adforton, Shropshire.
Parish History
LEINTWARDINE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the unions of Ludlow and Knighton, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford; including the townships of Brakes, Heath with Jay, Kington, Leintwardine, Marlow, Walford with Letton and Newton, Whitton with Trippleton, and Adforton with Stanway, Payton, and Grange. The parish is situated at the northern extremity of the county, where it borders on Shropshire, and near the confluence of the Teme and the Clun; and from the quantity of fine fish, particularly graylings, with which these rivers abound, it is much resorted to as a fishing-place.[1]
|
|
This section requires expansion with: a summary overview of the history of this parish. |
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 65-68. Accessed and adapted: 8 March 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 9 March 2013, at 03:19.
- This page has been accessed 272 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More