Leelanau County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Leelanau County
Guide to Leelanau County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Leelanau County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 1, 1840 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Leland |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Leelanau County Courthouse 301 E Cedar St. P. O. Box 467 Leland, MI 49654 Phone: (231) 256-9824 Leelanau County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1867,
divorce records from 1870 and court records.
Probate Judge has probate records. [1]
History
Parent County
1840--Leelanau County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County. It was attached to Mackinac and Grand Traverse Counties prior to organization 27 February 1863. County seat: Leland [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Leelanau County, Michigan page 347, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:33.
- This page has been accessed 1,226 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
