Lake County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Lake County
Guide to Lake County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lake County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 11, 1923 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Polson |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lake County Courthouse 106 4th Avenue Polson, MT 59860-2125 Phone: 406.883.6211 Lake County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 11 May 1923 from Flathead and Missoula
- County seat: Polson [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Flathead | Missoula | Sanders
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- St. Ignatius
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
- See an interactive map of Lake County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Kalispell newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk Recorder has birth, death and land records from 1923; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1923 and naturalization records 1923-1953[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Arlee | Finley Point | Niarada | Rollins |
| Big Arm | Jette | Pablo | Ronan |
| Charlo | Kerr | Polson | St. Ignatius |
| Dayton | Kicking Horse | Ravalli | Turtle Lake |
| Elmo | Kings Point | Rocky Point | Woods Bay |
Indian Reservation
The Flathead Indian Reservation comprises most of Lake County. Small portions of the reservation are also in the surrounding counties of Flathead , Missoula, and Sanders Counties.
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 16:56.
- This page has been accessed 1,437 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
