Lake County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Lake County
Guide to Lake County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lake County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 20, 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hettinger |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lake County Courthouse 255 N Forbes St; Lakeport, CA 95453 Phone 707.263.2368 |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1867,
mining and miscellaneous records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce,
probate and court records [1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
20 May 1861: Lake County was created from Napa County. County seat: Lakeport [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1867 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Lake County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Highlands California Family History Center
- Lakeport California Family History Center
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
Websites
- Lake County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 01:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,782 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

