Kingston, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Dorset go to  Dorset Parishes

Kingston was a chapelry of Corfe Castle until 1877.

Kingston, Dorset
Kingston St James, Dorset - 1833.jpg
St James, Kingston parish church (1833-1922)
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corfe Castle
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck PLU
Registration District Wareham
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Corfe Castle

Contents

Parish History

Kingston St James, Dorset - 1880.jpg
Kingston has two 19th century church buildings. In 1833 John Scott, 1st Earl of Eldon commissioned a building to replace a chapel that has been established in the 12th century. This building served as the parish church until 1922 when it was substituted for the church built by the 3rd Earl of Eldon originally built as his private chapel.

Here is a nineteenth century view of this parish: KINGSTON, or Kinson, a district chapelry, in the parish of Canford-Magna, union of Poole, hundred of Cogdean, Wimborne division of Dorset, 1¾ mile (S.) from Corfe-Castle. The river Stour runs on the northern side of the chapelry. The chapel, dedicated to St. James, was built in 1833, and is a handsome edifice, containing the remains of Sir Frederick Cavendish Ponsonby, governor of Malta.;[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

In 1790 a census of Corfe Castle, undertaken by Reverend John Hutchins.[2]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 680-683.
  2. History and Antiquities of the County of Dorset at Google Books

==

==



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2013, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 340 times.