Kingsbury County, South DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Kingsbury County, South Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Kingsbury County, South Dakota | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of South Dakota | |||||||||
![]() Location of South Dakota in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 8, 1873 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | DeSmet | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Kingsbury County Courthouse
102 2nd St SE
De Smet, SD 57231
Phone: 605.854.3832
Clerk Court has birth, death burial records from 1905,
marriage records from 1890, divorce and court records
from 1920, probate and natural records[1]
History
Parent County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service
1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
Church
Lutheran
St. Paul's Lutheran Church, De Smet
- Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, De Smet, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Trinity Lutheran Church
- Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Kingsbury County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Kingsbury County, South Dakota, p.625
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 June 2013, at 02:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,636 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


