Kidder County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Kidder County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Kidder County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 4, 1873 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Steele |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Kidder County Courthouse 120 E Broadway PO Box 66 Steele, ND 58582 Phone: 701.475.2651 Kidder County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, death and burial records from 1943,
divorce and court records from 1885; County Judge has marriage
records from 1887 and probate reocrds from 1883; Register of Deeds
has land records from 1881[1]
History
Parent County
1873--Kidder County was created 4 January 1873 from Buffalo County. County seat: Steele [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Burleigh | Emmons | Logan | Sheridan | Stutsman | Wells
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
- 1880
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.
Lutheran
- Records of Gluecksthaler Lutheran Church, Tappen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Court
Land
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.
After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Kidder County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Kidder County, North Dakota (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Kidder County.
- July 24-25, 1863 = Big Mound[4]
- July 26, 1863 = Dead Buffalo Lake[5]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kidder County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Kidder County, North Dakota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Taxation
The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Kidder County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kidder County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 22:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,428 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

