Kemper County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Kemper County
Guide to Kemper County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Kemper County Courthouse
Bell St; PO Box 188
De Kalb, MS 39328
Phone: 601.743.2560
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1912.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, court
and land records from 1912. [1]
History
Parent County
1833--Kemper County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
County seat: De Kalb [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1882--Some records were lost.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Kemper County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1837 - 1837 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1841 - 1841 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1845 - 1845 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1853 - 1853 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1880 - 1880 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Kemper County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
- Civil War service men from Kemper County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Kemper County.
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
- Company C - Lampley’s Company
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company H - Kemper Dragoons
- - 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company I - Kemper Rebels, aka Kemper Guards
- - Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
- Company A - Perrin’s Company
- - 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Perrin’s Company
- Company F - Steele’s Company
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1834-1888 - County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Marriage
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kemper County, Mississippi page 380, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2013, at 20:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,777 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More