Itasca County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Itasca County
Guide to Itasca County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Itasca County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 27, 1849 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Grand Rapids |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Itasca County Courthouse 123 4th St NE Grand Rapids, MN 55744 Phone: 218.327.2856 Itasca County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Recorder-Registrar has birth and marriage records from 1891,
death records from 1894, burial records from 1900,
land records from 1883 and military records from 1919.
Court Administrator has probate records from 1896,
divorce and court records from 1950.
Minnesota has Historical Society has divorce
and court records to 1950. [1]
History
It was organized in 1857, then deorganized in 1858, and reorganized in 1891. It was attached to Washington, Crow Wing, Benton, Chisago, Morrison, St. Louis, and Aitkin counties.
Parent County
1849--Itasca County was created 27 October 1849 from unorganized territories as an original county.
County seat: Grand Rapids [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Bigfork | Bovey | Calumet | Cohasset | Coleraine | Deer River | Effie | Grand Rapids | Keewatin | La Prairie | Marble | Nashwauk | Squaw Lake | Taconite | Warba | Zemple
Townships
Alvwood Township | Arbo Township | Ardenhurst Township | Balsam Township | Bearville Township | Bigfork Township | Blackberry Township | Bowstring Township | Carpenter Township | Deer River Township | Feeley Township | Good Hope Township | Goodland Township | Grand Rapids Township | Grattan Township |Greenway Township | Harris Township | Iron Range Township | Kinghurst Township | Lake Jessie Township | Lawrence Township | Liberty Township | Lone Pine Township | Marcell Township | Max Township | Moose Park Township | Morse Township | Nashwauk Township | Nore Township | Oteneagen Township | Pomroy Township | Sago Township | Sand Lake Township | Spang Township \ Splithand Township | Stokes Township | Third River Township | Trout Lake Township | Wabana Township | Wawina Township | Wildwood Township | Wirt Township
Unincorporated Communities
Alvwood | Ball Club | Bass Lake | Bear River | Bergville | Blackberry | Bowstring | Dora Lake | Dunbar | Goodland | Gratten | Gunn | Houpt | Inger | Jaynes | Jessie Lake | Mack | Marcell | Martin | Max | Nass | Orth | Pengilly | Pomroy | Rosy | Spring Lake | Suomi | Swan River | Talmoon | Togo | Wawina | Wirt
Unorganized Territories
Bowstring Lake | Deer Lake | Effie | Little Sand Lake | Northeast Itasca
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Court
Land
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Itasca – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Itasca County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Itasca County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Itasca County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Itasca County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2013, at 21:09.
- This page has been accessed 1,563 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

