Ightfield, ShropshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Shropshire
Shropshire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
IGHTFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Wem, Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Shropshire, 4¼ miles (S. E. by E.) from Whitchurch. [1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1682-1830 Marr 1682-1830 Bur 1682-1830
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Parish registers for Ightfield Microfilm of original records at the Shropshire County Record Office, Shrewsbury.Shropshire Record Office no.: 975/1/1-6, 8
Baptisms, marriages, burials 1557-1767 Baptisms, burials 1768-1812 Notebook recording births and deaths 1669-1765 (This notebook is severely damaged, and is nearly all illegible!) FHL BRITISH Film 1886132 Items 6-10
Baptisms 1813-1882 Burials 1813-1900 Marriages 1813-1900, 1755-1809 Banns 1823-1900 FHL BRITISH Film 1657565 Items 29-34
Bishop's transcripts for Ightfield Microfilm of original records in the Lichfield Joint Record Office, Stafford.
Baptisms, marriages and burials 1634-1810. FHL BRITISH Film 429027 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1813-1830. FHL BRITISH Film 502932 Item 2
Parish chest records, 1738-1861 Microfilm copy of original records in the Shropshire County Record Office, Shrewsbury.
Shropshire Record Office no.: 2477/1/5; 975/1/9
Churchwardens' accounts 1845-1861 FHL BRITISH Film 1657785 Item 17
Overseers' accounts 1738-1791 FHL BRITISH Film 1911429 Item 1
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474579. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Whitchurch Incorporation Poor Law Union, Shropshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 19 June 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:19.
- This page has been accessed 409 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
