Hopkins County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties H
Hopkins County
Guide to Hopkins County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Hopkins County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 25, 1846 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Sulphur Springs | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Hopkins County Courthouse
County Clerk's Office
128 Jefferson, Suite C
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482
Phone: (903) 438-4074
Fax: (903) 438-4110
Hopkins County Court House
PO Box 288
Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482
Phone: 903.885.3929
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate, court and land records from 1846;
District Clerk has divorce records[1]
History
Parent County
1846--Hopkins County was created 25 March 1846 from Lamar and Nacogdoches Counties. County seats: Tarrant 1846-1870; [2] Sulphur Springs 1870-present [3]
Boundary Changes
1870 - Southwestern Corner of Hopkins County was given to Rains County; land north of the South Sulphur River was given to Delta County. [4]
1871 - Small part of the northeastern corner of Hopkins County was given to Lamar County. [5]
Record Loss
1894--Hopkins County Courthouse destroyed by fire on February 10, 1894. Nearly all of the records were saved. Those destroyed were in the office of Judge Morris. The fire additionally destroyed the jail, part of the Courthouse square and the offices of the Hopkins County Echo newspaper.[6]
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Brashear | Dike | Como | Cumby | Gafford | Pickton | Saltillo | Sulphur Bluff | Sulphur Springs | Tira
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
Cemeteries
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Hopkins County Cemeteries ~ transcriptions ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Hopkins County Cemeteries ~ TXGenWeb
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
Census
- 1850 Census Index ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1860 Hopkins County Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1870 Mortality Schedule ~ TXGenWeb
- 1900 Enumeration Districts ~ TXGenWeb
- 1930 Enumeration Districts ~ TXGenWeb
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Hopkins County Church Records and News ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Hopkins County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Hopkins County and Our Heritage by Florene Chapman Adams
- Hopkins County Biographies ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Hopkins County Histories ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Hopkins County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1845 Hopkins County Map ~ TXGenWeb
- 1851 Hopkins County Map ~ TXGenWeb
- 1885 Hopkins County Land Map ~ TXGenWeb
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
- Hopkins County Military Records ~ TXGenWeb
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hopkins County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Hopkins County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
- Hopkins County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Hopkins County Obituaries ~ TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas Marriage Records 1966-2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Records; 1968-2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850-1930
Societies and Libraries
Sulphur Springs Public Library
611 Davis St N
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482
Phone: (903) 885-4926
Website
Family History Centers
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Web Sites
- Hopkins County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Hopkins County ~ TXGenWeb
- Hopkins County Genealogy and Family History Links - Linkpendium.com
- Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hopkins County, Texas. Page 666 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Sulphur Springs, TX Hopkins County Courthouse Fire, Feb 1894 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17844/sulphur-springs-tx-hopkins-county-courthouse-fire-feb-1894
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 17:24.
- This page has been accessed 2,551 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

