Holy Trinity Gough SquareEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
London
London Parishes
Holy Trinity Gough Square
London Holy Trinity Gough Square family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Parish History
Holy Trinity was built in response to St Bride, Fleet Street's need for a sister church to serve its growing population. Situated in Pemberton Row the social reformer Charles Booth noted it served the area's poorer citizens . As the century wore on legislation was passed to reduce the number of City churches and after a short, but worthy, existence the then Bishop of London authorised the reunification of the two parishes, the proceeds from the sale going towards the building of St Mellitus, Hanwell.
From: The Holy Trinity Gough Square Information page at this web site.
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:15.
- This page has been accessed 344 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
