Hodgeman County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Hodgeman County
Hodgeman County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Hodgeman County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 26, 1867 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Jetmore |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Hodgeman County Courthouse 500 Main Street Jetmore, Kansas 67854-0247 Phone: 316.357.6421 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Hodgeman County Courthouse
500 Main St; PO Box 247
Jetmore, KS 67854-0247
Phone: 316.357.6421
City Clerk has birth, death and burial records from 1911.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1887.
Clerk district Court has divorce and court records from 1887.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1879. [1]
History
Parent County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- For information about Civil War records see Marion County.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hodgeman County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Hodgeman County, Kansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Hodgeman and click Probate records.
Taxation
Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Hodgeman County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hodgeman County, Kansas page 251, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 June 2013, at 01:56.
- This page has been accessed 982 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

