Hinds County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Hinds County
Guide to Hinds County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Courthouse
Hinds County CourthousePO Box 686;
Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.968.6237
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1823 and court records from 1930. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records. [1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1823 |
|
|
|
|
History
Parent County
1821--Hinds County was created 12 February 1821 from the Choctaw Cession.
County seat: Jackson [2]
Boundary Changes
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Hinds County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1824 - 1824 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1825 - 1825 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1841 - 1841 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1870 - 1870 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1880 - 1880 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Jackson
Episcopal
St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond
- 1867-1885 - St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond, Baptism Index 1867-1885. Batch C714191 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1867-1895 - St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Raymond, Marriage Index 1867-1895. Batch M714191 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Bolton
- 1869-1885 - St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Bolton, Baptism Index 1869-1885. Batch C714181 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1869-1895 - St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Bolton, Marriage Index 1869-1895. Batch M714181 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
Education
- Millsaps College Yearbooks - back issues of the yearbook are available at the Internet Archive. Time span is approximately 1905-2010.
- Millsaps College Catalogs - older issues provide details on where alumni are living.
- Major Notes, 1955-1970 issues - the alumni publication of the college. There is an index available at the Millsaps College Library Archives that spans 1955-1997.
Genealogy
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Hinds County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Hinds County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
- Men from Hinds County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hinds County.
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Percy's) (Army of 10,000)
- Company D - (Brownsville Terribles)
- Company H - (Raymond Minute Men)
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
- Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
- Company D - Mississippi Rifles [also listed as Co. G]
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
- Company A - Ridley’s Battery, aka Jackson Light Artillery
- - 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Missippi Infantry]
- Company - Jackson Boys [attached to the 26th Virginia Infantry]
- - 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
- Company C - Raymond Minute Men
- Company K [sic] - Capt. Charlton’s Independent Company
- - 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
- Company A - Jackson Boys [attached to the 26th Virginia Infantry]
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company C - Downing Rifles
- - 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company C - Raymond Fencibles [also listed as Co. A]
Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Hinds County
- May 16, 1863 = Champion Hill also known as Bakers Creek[6]
- May 17, 1863 = Big Black River Bridge[7]
- Map showing Civil war battles in Mississippi.
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hinds County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Hinds County, Mississippi Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Probate Records
Probate records are held by the Hinds County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hinds County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1822-1891 - County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Birth
Marriage
- 1836-1916 - Hinds County Marriage Books 1-24 Index 1836-1916 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- Hinds County, MSGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hinds County, Mississippi page 379, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, http://www.nps.gov/hps/abpp/battles/ms009.htm Civil War Battle Summaries by State], (accessed 2 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 01:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,817 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
