Hawkins County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Hawkins County
Hawkins County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Hawkins County (established 1786) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Hawkins County, Tennessee | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 18, 1786 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Rogersville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Hawkins County Courthouse; ] 100 East Main Street Rogersville, TN 37857-3390 Phone: 423.272.8150 Hawkins County Website |
Quick Dates
Hawkins County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1908 | 1820 | 1908 | 1830 | 1788 | 1797 |
County Courthouse
Hawkins County Courthouse;
100 East Main Street
Rogersville, TN 37857-3390
Phone: 423.272.8150
County Clerk has marriage records from 1789
and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
Hawkins County Courthouse
100 E. Main St.
Rogersville, TN 37857
Phone: 1-423-272-8150
Hawkins County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
P.O.Box 790
100 E. Main St., Suite 204
Rogersville, TN37857
Phone: 1-423-272-7002
Hawkins County Register of Deeds
Land records
110 E. Main St., Room 202
Rogersville, TN 37857
Phone: 1-423-272-8304
Hawkins County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
115 Justice Center Drive, Suite 1237
Rogersville, TN 37857
Phone: 1-423-272-3397
Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
History
East Tennessee county established in 1786. Originally known as the Carter's Valley Settlement, from 1785 to 1789, this land was also claimed by the abortive, short-lived State of Franklin.
The county is named after North Carolina Senator Benjamin Hawkins (1754-1816).[3]
The land of Hawkins County was first organized by the State of Franklin in March 1786 from parts of Sullivan and Greene counties under the name Spencer County.[4] It seems to have included at least the present area of Hawkins County. However, the Franklin statehood effort collapsed by 1789. Spencer county existed only briefly, its legality is questionable, and little trace remains.
The research of René Jordan shows that a small segment of present-day Hawkins County was inhabited by people who considered themselves Virginians, not North Carolinians. Their wills and other records can be found in Washington County, Virginia.
Later in 1786 the North Carolina legislature reconstituted a parallel-county of Franklin's Spencer County and called it Hawkins County. It was known by both county names while Frankln's statehood efforts lasted.[5]Now the land on which the lost county of Spencer County was located is known as Hawkins County, Tennessee. By the time of the 1790 census of the Southwest Territory (proto-Tennessee), the County of Hawkins also included parts of modern Claiborne, Hancock, Union, Grainger, Hamblen, Anderson, Knox, Jefferson, Roane, and Loudon counties.[6]
Early boundaries of Hawkins County, as researched by René Jordan, extended from the Virginia border to the Georgia border, overlapping lands released by applicable treaties. (See map and timetable at TNGenWeb site.)
In 1796 the land of Hawkins County (formerly Spencer County) became part of the new State of Tennessee. This area is where many Melungeons are believed to have settled. The Melungeon page identifies surnames believed to be associated with this group.
Parent County
1786--Hawkins County was created 18 November 1786 from parts of Sullivan County, and Greene County.
County seat: Rogersville[7]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[8] (female)
- Hear it spoken[9] (male)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1863--Fire damaged records.- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1890
- Early marriages beginning in 1820, but incomplete due to damage
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Timelines
A timeline of events in Hawkins County, Tennessee before 1790 is found on page 48, Vol 21 No 2 (Apr 2004) of Distant Crossroads, the quarterly publication of Hawkins County (TN) Genealogical and Historical Society. (FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 B2d)
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Allandale | Coran | Lewis Lane | Pleasant Hill |
| Altonville | Cuba | Longs Bend | Quarryville (hist.) |
| Alumwell | Dykes Mill | Longtown (hist.) | Rogersville |
| Amis | Eidson | Lyons Store (hist.) | Rotherwood |
| Aunt (hist.) | Enterprise | Marshall | Saint Clair |
| Austins Mill | Fisher Creek | McCloud | Shiloh |
| Bays Cove | Friendship | McDonald Hill | Spears |
| Beech Grove | Frisco | McPheeter Bend | Spruce Pine |
| Belvins | Galbraith | Midway | Stacy |
| Big Creek | Gillenwater (hist.) | Miller Flats | Starnes |
| Block City | Goshen | Mole | Stony Point |
| Blossom | Greenvale | Mooresburg | Strahl |
| Bulls Gap | Green Village | Mooresburg Springs | Striggersville |
| Burem | Greenland | Mount Carmel | Surgoinsville |
| Butcher (hist.) | Grigsby | Mowls Mill | Van Hill |
| Camelot | Guntown | Murrelltown | Vogel (hist.) |
| Cartersville | Henard Mill | New Canton | Waycross |
| Chalk Level | Henardtown | New Hope | West Ridge |
| Chimneytop (hist.) | Hickory Cove (hist.) | Okolona | White Horn |
| Choptack | Honeycutt | Opossum (hist.) | Zion Hill |
| Christian Bend | Kepler | Otes | |
| Church Hill | Kincholoe (hist.) | Persia | |
| Cloud Creek | Klondike | Petersburg | |
| Cold Springs | Lee Valley | Phipps Bend |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Hawkins County biography, cemetery, court, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Hawkins County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Bible Records
Transcripts of various family bibles are found in scattered issues of Distant Crossroads, the quarterly publication of the Hawkins County Genealogical and Historical Society.
- Reynolds--Smith--Sanders Family Bible Records, ca. 1789-1957 in Old Family Records Collection, ca. 1754-1966: Hawkins County, Tennessee. FHL US/CAN Film 1550780.
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
A great place to start Hawkins County cemetery searches is:
- Hawkins County Genealogical and Historical Society. Hawkins County, Tennessee, Cemeteries: Civil Districts. 4 vols. Rogersville, Tenn.: Hawkins County Genealogical & Historical Society, 1988. FHL is missing Vol. 2. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 V3c v. 1 ff. Free Lookups Available!
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | TNGenWeb Cemetery Database | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | ||
| Hawkins Co., TNGenWeb Project |
Published Hawkins County cemetery records:
- Montgomery, Mary Alice Hurt. Cemetery Census for Hawkins County, Tennessee, Sullivan County, Tennessee and Washington County, Virginia. Kingsport, Tenn.: M.A.H. Montgomery, [2002?]. FHL US/CAN Book 976.896/K1 V3m.
Census
1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population censuses of Hawkins County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Hawkins County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1790- Lost, only statistics survive[10], but substitutes are available:
- Eakle, Arlene. Tennessee Research. 2010. Purchase information at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog. [Includes a reconstructed 1790 census, sources: "Contemporary lists–tax lists, militia rolls, land grants and deeds, claims for pre-emption lands, names recorded in diaries and journals. And numerous histories compiled by local historians from records that we have not seen or read ourselves."]
- Jackson, Ronald Vern. Ohio, 1790, Volume Two. North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Indexing Systems, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 977.1 X2o 1790. [Includes "Territory Southwest of the River Ohio," i.e. East Tennessee.[11]]
- McGhee, Lucy Kate. Partial Census of 1787 to 1791 of Tennessee as Taken from the North Carolina Land Grants. 3 Parts. Microfilmed in 1990. FHL US/CAN Films 1728882 Item 4 and 1683130 Item 3.
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
1820 - Lost[12]
1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; indexed at Lineages. [Covers this county.]
These records have also been abstracted:
- 1820 Census of Manufactures: Hawkins County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 6, No. 4 ():174. For availability, see Periodicals.
1830
- Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830. Free Lookups Available!
- Lawson, Rowena. Hawkins County, Tennessee, 1830-1850 Censuses. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 X2L.
1840
- Lawson, Rowena. Hawkins County, Tennessee, 1830-1850 Censuses. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 X2L.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Hawkins County on page 153.]
1850
- Lawson, Rowena. Hawkins County, Tennessee, 1830-1850 Censuses. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 X2L. Free Lookups Available!
1880
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census, Hawkins County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 X2s 1880. Free Lookups Available!
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 7 1891. [Hawkins County is included in Vol. 7.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
Church
BAPTISTS
The memberships records for Richardson Creek Missionary Baptist Church (near Byrd Creek, Tate Cem, and Chestnut Grove) for 1847-1857, 1874-1875 are transcribed on page 52 of the Jan 1998 edition of Distant Crossroads, the quarterly publication of the Hawkins County (TN) Genealogical and Historical Society.
- DeBoard, George Mitchell et al. Personal Records of a Minister: Rev. George Mitchell DeBoard, Grainger County, Tennessee; Includes Many People from Hancock, Hawkins and Hamblen Counties, Tennessee). Dallas, Texas: H.P. Garner, 2001?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8932 K2d.
METHODISTS
Carter Valley - A list of those promising to pay for the securing of ground and building of a parsonage house for the Carter Valley Circuit is found on page 75, Vol 19, No. 3 of Distant Crossroads, the quarterly publication of the Hawkins County (TN) Genealogical and Historical Society, 2002.
Court
Genealogy
More than 75 genealogies have been published about Hawkins County, Tennessee families. To view a list, visit Hawkins County, Tennessee Genealogy.
Gordon Aronhime (1911-1983) collected information on hundreds of Southwest Virginia and East Tennessee pioneers. His note cards, which reference more than 4,000 early settlers of the Holston-Clinch River area and East Tennessee (1770s-1790s), are held at the Library of Virginia. The cards have been digitized and made available online.[13]
Immigration
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 9 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Hawkins County.[14]
Land
Deeds
The original Hawkins County Deed Books are held at the Hawkins County Courthouse. The TSLA microfilmed Deed Books 1-39 (1787-1894) and General Indexes (1787-1906) in 1974. Copies of these films are also available at the Family History Library: FHL US/CAN Films 972798-972815.
Some of these records have been abstracted:
- [1788-1800] Historical Records Project (Tennessee). Deed Books, 1788-1800, Hawkins County, Tennessee. Typescript, Tennessee State Library, Nashville, Tenn. FHL US/CAN Film 24686 Item 3.
- [1788-1861] Historical Records Survey (Tennessee). General Index to Deeds, 1788-1861, Hawkins County, Tennessee. Typescript, Tennessee State Library, Nashville, Tenn. FHL US/CAN Film 24687.
- [1801-1819] Murray, Joyce Martin. Hawkins County, Tennessee, Deed Abstracts, 1801-1819. Dallas, Texas: J.M. Murray, 1998. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 R2m.
- [1802-1860] Hawkins County Genealogical and Historical Society (Rogersville, Tennessee). Hawkins County Deeds 1802-1860 (Selected). n.p.: Hawkins County Genealogical & Historical Society, 2008. FHL CD-ROM no. 5624.
Local Land Entries Issued by North Carolina
The original Hawkins County land entries issued by North Carolina are kept at the North Carolina State Archives in Raleigh. On their website, users can bring up a list of land entries issued in Hawkins County, both before and after it became a part of the state of Tennessee. Years covered: 1778-1804.
Instructions:
- Follow this link to conduct a "Call Number Search" using the MARS Catalog on their site.
- Using the pull down window, change "Call Numbers starting" to "A MarsID matching."
- Type 12.14.9 (Windows Vista users may need to include a period after the last digit, for example 12.14.9.) and click Search. This is the specific MarsID for Hawkins County.
- Click on the entry that is returned: "Tennessee, Hawkins County."
- In the window that pops up, click Show List of Child Records and a list of Hawkins County land entries will be produced. Browse to find abstracts of the original records.[15]
N.B. You can also search by name through the Basic Search, but it lacks soundex capabilities.
Land Entries
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Hawkins County land records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- Entry Book A: 1824-1835
- Entry Book B: 1836-1860
- Entry Books C-D: 1830-1837, 1869-1902; Surveyors Book: 1824-1828
Land Grants
The original Hawkins County Land Grant Books are held at the Hawkins County Archival Project in Rogersville, Tenn. The Genealogical Society of Utah microfilmed Land Grant Books 1-2 (1784-1819) in 2007: FHL US/CAN Film 2421541 Items 1-2.
Billie R. McNamara abstracted, indexed, and published these records:
- McNamara, Billie R. Hawkins County, Tennessee Land Grant Books 1 & 2, 1787-1819. Knoxville, Tenn.: B.R. McNamara, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 R29m. Available from the author.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
Maps
- [1786] Reeves, Charles A. Hawkins & Sumner Counties [Tennessee] - Created in 1786. Published 2000. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1790] Reeves, Charles A. Hawkins County, Territory of Tennessee, County Bounds as they existed in 1790. Published 1998, based on an earlier map of unknown provenance. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Hawkins County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
The 1840 Census of Pensioners has been abstracted multiple times:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Hawkins County on page 153.]
- Census of Pensioners, 1840, Hamblen Heritage, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1995).
- Census of Pensioners, 1840, Eastern District (sel.), Sullivan County Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Spring 2004).
- Soldiers in Census, 1840, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4 (Winter 1999).
Additional resources include:
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
- Revolutionary Soldiers, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Jan. 1984); Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1984); Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1984); Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct. 1984); Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan. 1985); Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1985); Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct. 1985); Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan. 1986); Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr. 1986); Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul. 1986); Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct. 1986).
- Revolutionary War Soldiers Buried in County, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 21, No. 3 (2004).
- Joshua Walker, Rev. War Pension, 1834, Holston Pastfinder, Vol. 16, No. 4 (Jun. 1998).
Militia and Indian Wars
- Roster of Soldiers, 1788, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan. 1994).
- Service against Chickamaugas, 1790 Claims, Tennessee Ancestors, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Dec. 1989).
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1960):65-68. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Hawkins County pensioners (pp. 66-67)]
- Soldiers of War of 1812 Buried in TN, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jan. 1987).
- War of 1812 Soldiers, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Apr. 1987).
- War of 1812 Soldiers of Co. Bur. Ft. Williams Cem., Distant Crossroads, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1990).
Civil War
Civil War service men from Hawkins County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Hawkins County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 2nd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate) - CSA - Company B.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ashby's) - CSA - Company C.
- 4th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Branner's) - CSA - Company D.
- 5th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McClellan's) - CSA - Company D.
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McKenzie's) - CSA
- 12th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Day's) - CSA - Companies A and C.
- 16th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Neal's) - CSA - Company F.
- 19th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K.
- 29th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies E and K.
- 39th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (W. M. Bradford's) (31st Infantry) - CSA - Companies D and G.
- 43rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Gillespie's) (5th East Tennesse Volunteers) - CSA - Company E.
- 60th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Crawford's) (79th Infantry) - CSA - Companies B and L.
- 63rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Fain's) (74th Infantry) - CSA - Company D.
Union Soldiers
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies C, D and E.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Hawkins County:
- Carter, William Randolph. History of the First regiment of Tennessee Volunteer Cavalry in the Great war of the Rebellion, with the Armies of the Ohio and Cumberland, under Generals Morgan, Rosecrans, Thomas, Stanley and Wilson. Knoxville, Tennessee: Gaut-Ogden Co. Printers, 1902. Free digital copy. Union.
- Worsham, William J. Old Nineteenth Tennessee regiment, C.S.A. June, 1861-April, l865. Knoxville, Tennessee: Press of Paragon Printing Co., 1902. Free digital copy.
- The Blue & Gray from Hawkins County Tennessee, by Sheila Weems Johnston, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). A large assortment of Civil War links.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Hawkins County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Hawkins County, page 344-346.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Hawkins County click on the following cities or towns:
Occupations
- Gump, Lucy Kennerly and Thomas Amis. Amis Ledger: Interpretive Transcription of an East Tennessee Business Record Book. 2 vols. Johnson City, Tenn.: L.K. Gump, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 U3g v. 1 ff.
- Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Hawkins County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Hawkins County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Distant Crossroads
- Family History Library has Volumes 1 (1983) to present FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 B2d.
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
For further information see Web page: http://www.rootsweb.com/~tnhcghs.
For indexes for back issues of Distant Crossroads(1997 - present) click here.
For index of surnames in Distant Crossroads (1998 - 2008) and index of surnames in Families of Hawkins County, Tennessee 1786 - 1999 click here.
For a digital version of Distant Crossroads Volumes 23 and 24 at Family History Archives.
- East Tennessee Roots
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Hawkins County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
- Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Hawkins County, Tennessee records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.
Prisons
Learn if your Hawkins County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
The original Hawkins County Wills are held at the County Archives. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed some of these records covering the years 1797-1910. FHL copy: FHL Film 972797. In 2007, GSU microfilmed wills (1779-1975) and an index covering the same years: FHL/VAULT Films 1572779 Items 2-3, 1572794, 1572795, 1572805 Item 1.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Wills, 1797-1910 (4 vols.)
- Bonds, Letters, 1879-1918 (4 vols.)
- Court records, 1911-1920
- Index to Chancery court, 1811-1820
- Insolvent estate records, 1875-1972 (2 vols.)
- Settlements, 1865-1904 (3 vols.)
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Hawkins County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following Hawkins County probate records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1786-1864] Eugenia Lauderdale Messick's book Hawkins County, Tennessee Wills, 1786-1864 (FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 P2m Vol 1) contains complete TRANSCRIPTIONS of the surviving wills that were copied by the County Court Clerk sometime after the Civil War, as the original will books of Hawkins County, Tennessee were destroyed by fire in 1863. The every name index makes her book a powerful starting point in researching the wills of Hawkins County, Tennessee.
- [1786-1851] Bell, Annie W.B. Hawkins County, Tennessee Marriages and Wills, 1786-1851. 1934. FHL US/CAN Film 896967 Item 3.
- [1786-1886] Gardner, Carolyn S. and Sheila W. Johnston. Wills of Hawkins County, Tennessee. Rogersville, Tenn.: Hawkins County Genealogical & Historical Society, 1991. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 P2g v. 1.
- [1797-1886] Historical Records Project (Tennessee). Will Books, 1797-1886, Hawkins County, Tennessee. Typescript, The TSLA, Nashville, Tenn. FHL US/CAN Film 24689.
- [1797-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's wills.] Free Lookups Available!
- McGhee, Lucy Kate. Hawkins County, Tennessee, Marriages and Wills. Free digital copy available online, courtesy: Internet Archive.
Taxation
The original Hawkins County Tax Books (1879-1880, 1886, 1892-1893) are held at the Hawkins County Courthouse. TSLA microfilmed these records in the 1970s. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 972820-972821.
The following Hawkins County tax records have been abstracted:[16]
- [1799, 1801] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1799, 1801 tax lists.]
- [1799, 1801, 1809-1812] Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing Company, 1964. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4c. [Includes 1799 and 1801 petitions and 1809-1812 tax lists.]
- [1801] "Hawkins County Land Sold for 1801 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Winter 1997):41. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1809-1812] Creekmore, Pollyanna. "Early East Tennessee Taxpayers: Hawkins County Tennessee Tax Lists 1809-1812," East Tennessee Historical Society Quarterly, Vol. 32 (1960):117-131.
- [1809-1812] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1809-1812 tax lists.]
- [1809-1812] Hawkins County, Tennessee, 1809-1812 Tax List. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A1 no. 95.
- [1809-1812] Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810. [Cites Creekmore's Early East Tennessee Taxpayers publications as a source.]
- [1810] Tax List, Capt. Nathaniel Smith's Company, 1810, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Oct. 1989).
- [1811] Welder, Kathy. "1811 Hawkins Co. Tax List (Partial)," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1814] "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Hackins (Hawkins) County.]
- [1816] List of Unpaid Taxes for 1816, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1822] List of Insolvencies for 1822, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1825-1826] List of Delinquent Taxes for 1825 and 1826, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1832] List of Insolvencies for 1832, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1833] Tax List for Capt. Frost Company, 1833, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul. 1989).
- [1836] Barham, Eleanor Riggins. "Hawkins County, Tennessee 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 31, No. 3 (Fall 1984):115-120; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Winter 1984):163-169. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1836] Douthat, James L. 1836 Hawkins County, Tennessee Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1994. FHL US/CAN Book 976.895 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1855-1856] Revenue Docket, 1855-56, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr. 1998); Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct. 1998).
- [1862] U.S. Direct District Tax, 1862, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan. 1997); Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr. 1997); Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul. 1997); Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct. 1997); Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan. 1998); Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr. 1998); Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul. 1998); Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct. 1998); Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan. 1999); Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr. 1999); Vol. 16, No. 3 (Jul. 1999); Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan. 2000); Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr. 2000); Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul. 2000); Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct. 2000).
- [1868-1869] Delinquent Tax List, 1868-1869, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr. 1986).
- [1886] Tax Books, District 5, 1886, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1991).
- [1899] Tax Books, 1899, Distant Crossroads, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul. 1995); Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct. 1995); Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan. 1996); Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr. 1996); Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul. 1996); Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct. 1996).
Vital Records
Marriage
The following Hawkins County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1789-1865 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
- 1789-1866 - Hawkins County Marriage Records 1789-1866. Free Lookups Available!
- 1819-1895 - Hawkins County Marriage Index 1819-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[17]
- 1866-1899 - Hawkins County Marriages 1866-1899. Free Lookups Available!
- McGhee, Lucy Kate. Hawkins County, Tennessee, Marriages and Wills. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
Death
- Hawkins County Death Certificates 1908-1912. Free Lookups Available!
For deaths of Methodists in Hawkins County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies and Libraries
H. B. Stamps Library
407 East Main Street
Rogersville, TN 37857
A guide to the Genealogy Room at the H. B. Stamp Library is found on pages 76-77, Vol 19 No 3 (2003) of Distant Crossroads, the quarterly publication of the Hawkins County (TN) Genealogical and Historical Society.
Hawkins County, Tennessee Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 429
Rogersville TN 37857-0429
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 1-865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Family History Centers
Websites
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets About Tennessee Counties: Hawkins County (TN State Library and Archives)
- Hawkins County, Tennessee Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources (n2genealogy)
- Hawkins County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Hawkins County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Hawkins County, TN GenWeb (USGenWeb)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TNHAWKIN-L (Hawkins County, Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: FRANKLIN-STATE-L (State of Franklin 1784-1788 List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: UPPEREASTTN-L (Upper East Tennessee List)
References
- ↑ "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hawkins County, Tennessee page 640, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ “State of Franklin” in The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture at http://tennesseeencyclopedia.net/imagegallery.php?EntryID=F061 (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, "Lost Counties of Tennessee," East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications 38 (1966): 4-6.
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 314.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Arlene Eakle, "Reconstructing the 1790 Census of Tennessee," Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog, 20 May 2010.
- ↑ Arlene Eakle, "Territory Southwest of the River Ohio," Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog, 5 June 2009.
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964) FHL Book 976.8 R4c.
- ↑ "Original Virginia Records Imaged and Indexed Online," Arlene Eakle's Virginia Genealogy Blog, 12 October 2008.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see East Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 May 2013, at 18:46.
- This page has been accessed 17,716 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


