Harris County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Harris County
Guide to Harris County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Harris County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 14, 1827 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hamilton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Harris County Courthouse PO Box 528 Hamilton, GA 31811-0528 Phone: 706.628.4944 Harris County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Court has marriage and probate records;
Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1827,
divorce and court records from 1927; County Health
Department has birth and death records[1]
History
Local histories are available for Harris County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1827--Harris County was created 14 December 1827 from Muscogee and Troup Counties.
County seat: Hamilton[2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1865 -- Fire set by Federal Troops, but quickly extinguished.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, Book 1, 1835-1849 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Book 2, 1850-1875 (digital images). See names of Testators. Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book 1, 1850-1875 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book 2, 1873-1932 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Misc. Estates, Book B, 1837-1844 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriages
- 1828-1860 - Index to Harris County Marriages 1828-1860 Georgia Pioneers
- 1828-1860 - Harris County Marriage Index 1828-1860. Batch M713031 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1859-1872 - Index to Harris County Marriages 1859-1872 Georgia Pioneers
- 1859-1883 - Harris County Marriage Index 1859-1883. Batch M713032 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1877-1892 - Harris County Marriage Index 1877-1892. Batch M713033 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1890-1895 - Harris County Marriage Index 1890-1895. Batch M713035 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1893-1895 - Harris County Marriage Index 1893-1895. Batch M713034 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1869-70, 1879-80 - Harris County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- 1879-80 - Hamilton Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Harris County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harris County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 19:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,836 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
