Hallow, WorcestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes


Contents

Parish History

"HALLOW, a parish, in the union of Martley, Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Worcester; containing, with the chapelry of Broadheath and hamlet of Shoulton, 1228 inhabitants.  There is a place of worship for Independents.  —See Broadheath."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The original parish registers, 1584-1982 are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the Worcestershire Library and History Centre)

Trinity Street
Worcester
WR1 2PW
England
Tel: 01905 765922
Fax: 01905 765925
Email: WLHC@worcestershire.gov.uk
Website: www.worcestershire.gov.uk/records/

For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see The National Archives Archon Directory

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers, parish chest records, and some transcripts have been microfilmed. See FHL catalog for film numbers.

The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester were filmed twice. The second filming is not complete, but contains the following:

Hallow Bishop Transcripts, 2nd filming
Notes Dates Film
 Baptisms, marriages and burials (most pages are out of order and many are missing)   1609-1640, 1660-1700        FHL Film 246658 Item 2  
baptisms, marriages and burials 1820-1832  FHL  Film 350575 Item 6
baptisms and burials 1833-1838   FHL Film 350589 Item 1  
marriages 1833-1837   FHL Film 350589 Item 1  
Baptisms and burials 1838-1875   FHL  Film 350639 Item 1  

The first filming was not arranged by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different microfilm. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).  

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-5. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50741

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 August 2012, at 19:31.
  • This page has been accessed 287 times.