Hall County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Hall County
Hall County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, military records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Hall County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 4, 1858 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Grand Island |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Hall County Courthouse 121 S. Pine Street Grand Island, Nebraska 68801 Phone: 308.385.5080 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Hall County Courthouse121 S Pine Street
Grand Island, NE 68801
Phone: 308.385.5080
County Clerk has marriage records from 1869.
County Judge has probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
Register has land records. [1]
Hall County Courthouse
111 West 1st Street
Grand Island NE 68801-6016
Quick Facts
Parent County
4 November 1858: Hall County was created as an original county. [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Archives and Libraries
Biography
- Biographical and Historical memoirs of Adams, Clay, Hall and Hamilton Counties, Nebraska. Comprising a Condensed History of the State, a number of Biographies of Distinguished Citizens of the same, a Brief Descriptive History of each of the Counties mentioned, and numerous Biographical Sketches of the Citizens of such Counties
- History of Hall County, Nebraska: A Narrative of the Past with Special Emphasis Upon the Pioneer Period of the County's History, and Chronological Presentation of its Social, Commercial, Educational, Religious, and Civic Development from the Early Days to the Present Time, and Special Analysis of its Military and Civil Participation in the Late World War - The book includes several biographical sketches of Hall's citizens.
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Hall County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church History and Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Grand IslandRecord of Members 1929-1941 at family History Library
Court Records
History
- 1890 History of Hall County - The Hall County portion transcribed from the book "Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Adams, Clay, Hall and Hamilton Counties"
- Biographical and Historical memoirs of Adams, Clay, Hall and Hamilton Counties, Nebraska. Comprising a Condensed History of the State, a number of Biographies of Distinguished Citizens of the same, a Brief Descriptive History of each of the Counties mentioned, and numerous Biographical Sketches of the Citizens of such Counties
- History of Hall County, Nebraska: A Narrative of the Past with Special Emphasis Upon the Pioneer Period of the County's History, and Chronological Presentation of its Social, Commercial, Educational, Religious, and Civic Development from the Early Days to the Present Time, and Special Analysis of its Military and Civil Participation in the Late World War - A comprehensive history Hall County, Nebraska. The book includes several biographical sketches of Hall's citizens.
Land and Property
- Hall County Register of Deeds - By using the MapSifter or Instrument Search you may search for property ownership information.
Maps
- Hall County Historical Maps and Atlases - Contains historical maps of Hall County and its cities from 1885, 1890, and 1904 as well as early maps of Grand Island and Nebraska. The historical maps include the many of the land owner's names.
- Hall County GIS Interactive Map
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Hall County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military History and Records
- &columns=*,0,0 Roster of War Veterans: Hall County, Nebraska : Civil War, Indian wars, Spanish American War, World War I. [n.d.: n.p] 1925. this is p. 228-241 of an unknown larger work. It lists names, addresses, units, and staates. It is divided by war. (FHL book 978.241 M2r).
Newspapers
Probate Records
Railroads
Grand Island railroad history - The first Transcontinentan Railroad reached the present site of Grand Island, Nebraska in July of 1866. Railroads are still important to the town.
Taxation
Vital Records
- Marriage Records at Family History Library, 1869-1993. They were kept by the Probate Court and the County Court
- Hall County, Nebraska Marriage Indexes
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Webites
- Hall County, NE as part of American History & Genealogy Project - Includes a history, censuses, and other information for Hall County.
- Hall County, NE as part of USGenWeb Project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Family History Centers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hall County, Nebraska page 431, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
| This Nebraska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 17:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,553 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


