Halifax St Ann in the Grove, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png  Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Halifax St Ann in the Grove

Contents

Parish History

OWRAM (South), a village, a township, and a sub-district, in Halifax parish (also known as Halifax St. Ann in the Grove) and district, W. R. Yorkshire. The village stands on an eminence overlooking the vale of Calder, the Calder and Hebble navigation, and the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 1½ mile S of Hipper-holme r. station, and 2 S E of Halifax; and has a post-office under Halifax. The township contains also the hamlets of Cromwell-Bottom, Brook-Foot, Barker-Royd, Bank-Top, Binns-Bottom, Salterhebble, and Siddal, and part of the village of Kings-Cross; and is partly within Halifax borough. Acres, 2, 280. Real property, £17, 728; of which £1, 280 are in mines, and £1,090 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 7, 380; in 1861, 7, 245. Houses, 1, 542. Pop. of the part within Halifax borough, in 1861, 2, 690. Houses, 569. The manor of Cromwell-Bottom belongs to H. and H. Freeman, Esqs. Ashday Hall, Ash Grove, and St. Anne's are chief residences. Beacon hill is an eminence overlooking the town of Halifax; and is surmounted by a beacon, which was used to commemorate the peace rejoicings in May 1856. Stone of fine quality is quarried, and coal is worked. There are card, wire, and woollen manufactories, and copperas works. The church of St. Anne was rebuilt in 1818; is a stone structure, in plain pointed style; and consists of nave and chancel, with a tower. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, and a national school. The sub-district is conterminate with the township.


(John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 May 2012, at 17:14.
  • This page has been accessed 177 times.