Grong, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Nord-Trøndelag County > Grong
Contents |
Church Records
Grong clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Namsskogan, Røyrvik and Trones chapel. Grong, Høylandet, and Harran were separated from Overhalla clerical district in 1820.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1706-1910.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
Overhalla / Harran: 1706-1748, 1758-1765, 1816-1825
Overhalla / Høylandet: 1706-1748, 1758-1765, 1817-1851
Census Records
- Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. This census was taken by the local parish priests. Overhalla clerical district includes Grong, Høylandet, Overhalla and Skage. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet.
- Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Overhalla clerical district includes Grong, Høylandet, Overhalla, Harran, Namsos and Skage. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet.
- 1701 Census This census contains Overhalla, Grong, Høylandet, Skage and Harran. It is found as a database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1795-1797 Census A church census of a part of Nidaros diocese (stift) which includes towns and villages in Nord-Trøndelag and Nordland counties. In Nordland they are Tjøtta, Nesna, Elsfjord and Korgen. In Nord-Trøndelag they are Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Klinga, Otterøy, Flatanger, Kvam, Følling and Verdal. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- 1801 Census The 1801 census for Overhalla clerical district includes Overhalla, Skage, Grong, Høylandet, Harran, and Namsos parishes. Microfilmed copies of the records are available at the Family History Library. A database is available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1845 Census This is the 1845 census for Grong clerical district which includes the parishes Grong, Høylandet and Harran. Includes the farm name, persons name, position in the family, sex, marital status, age, occupation, and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library. There is also an extraction from the 1845 census for Grong clerical district in Nord- Trøndelag county, Norway. This district includes these parishes: Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Namsskogan, Røyrvik and Trones.
- 1865 Census This census for Grong clerical district contains the parishes ofGrong, Høylandet, Harran, Trones, Røyrvik and Namsskogan. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library and is found as a database online at Digitalarkivet.
- 1875 Census This census for Grong clerical district contains the parishes of Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Trones, Røyrvik and Namsskogan. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library. There is also an extraction from the 1875 census for Grong and Harran parishes at the Family History Library.
- 1900 Census This census for Grong clerical district contains the parishes of Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Trones, Røyrvik and Namsskogan. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library and as a database at Digirtalarkivet.
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet.
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
Court Records
Land Records
Farm Books
Strand, Jørgen P., Grong bygdebok, Grong : Bygdeboknemnd, 1990-. genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Grong, Nord-Trøndelag County, Norway. FHL 948.42/G1 D2s A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.42-G1 H2b - GRONG.pdf
| The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names
The farm name and number of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
27 Berg 13 Berge 13 Bergsmoen 2 Bjørken 21 Dun 25 Ekker 24 Formo 11 Føinem 28 Gavlen 26 Godejorden 30 Grong 26 Guslien 19 Heggem 6 Holandsøien 10 Holo 23 Homo 14 Jørem 20 Kvitem 8 Leir 31 Leksaas 29 Medjaa 16 Moum 26 Nyneset 23 Rauhyllbakken 22 Rosten 26 Sandnes 17 Sem 12 Sklet 12 Skletneset 28 Tømmeraas 5 Valdskraa 1 Veiem 7 Vie 15 Værem 3 Øiem 9 Østtun
Probate Records
1656-1863: Probates are found in Namdal judicial district.
1703-1815: Clerical probates are found in Namdal Deanery
References
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 15:29.
- This page has been accessed 396 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
