Grimes County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties G
Grimes County
Guide to Grimes County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Adopted by TXGenWeb Grimes County
Eleanor Colson
Contents |
County Courthouse
Grimes County Courthouse
PO Box 209
Anderson, TX 77830
Phone: 409.873.2111
County Clerk has birth, death and court records from 1903, marriage and probate records from 1848 and land records from 1843[1]
- Located in Anderson, Texas. The present court house was built in 1894. Four prior court houses have been destroyed; one by wind and three by fire.
History
- Grimes County was named for Jesse Grimes, a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence.
- Grimes County TXGenWeb History and Maps
Parent County
1846--Grimes County was created 6 April 1846 from Montgomery County. County seat: Anderson [2]
Boundary Changes
1853 -- Madison County was carved out of northern Grimes County.
1873 -- Waller County was formed from territory in the southern part of Grimes County.[3]
Record Loss
1848--County records were destroyed by fire in late 1848.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
- Towns and Cities: Anderson | Bedias | Iola | Navasota | Todd Mission
- Unincorporated Areas: Courtney | Plantersville | Richards | Roan's Prairie | Shiro | Singleton | Stoneham
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Grimes County TXGenWeb Cemeteries Large listing with many transcriptions and photos
- Texas Tombstone Project for Grimes County
- Find A Grave Cemetery listing for Grimes County
- Cemeteries of Grimes County, Texas Gloria Mayfield's site
Individual Cemeteries
BillionGraves
- Red Top Cemetery, Bedias
- St. Joseph Catholic Church Cemetery, Navasota
- St. Mary's Catholic Church Cemetery, Plantersville
Census
- Grimes County Census located on Grimes County TXGenWeb page.
- 1850 Grimes County Census USGenWeb Archives Project.
- 1850 Grimes County Slave Census USGenWeb Archives Project.
- 1860 Grimes County Census USGenWeb Archives Project.
- Russian Immigrants on 1900 census
- Russian Immigrants on 1910 census
- Russian Immigrants on 1920 census
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Grimes County Churches Grimes County TXGenWeb
Court
Events
- Texas Renaissance Festival Located in Todd Mission, south of Plantersville
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Austin's Colonists in Grimes County Part of Grimes County TXGenWeb site
- Original Land Owners of Grimes County From USGenWeb Archives for Texas
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Grimes County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Grimes County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- History of the Grimes County Sheriff's Office
- Surnames of Grimes County Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Historical Markers of Grimes County Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Grimes County Biographies Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Grimes County Historic Homes Grimes County TXGenWeb
Books about Local History - Early History of Grimes County, 1930, by E. L. Blair.
- History of Grimes County, Land of Heritage and Progress, 1982, by Grimes County Historical Commission.
- Saga of Anderson - The Proud Story of a Historic Texas Community, 1957, by Irene Taylor Allen.
- My Hometown: the Bedias Story, by Wallace Davis, 1953, Gulf Publishing Company, Houston
- The Honor Roll of Grimes County, A tribute to men from Grimes County, Texas who served in the U.S. armed forces during World War I.
- Austin Colony Pioneers: Including History of Bastrop, Fayette, Grimes, Montgomery and Washington Counties, Texas, Worth S. Ray, Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., January 1995
- Baptist Churches of Grimes County, by Joseph Eugene Boulet, 1936-37, Anderson
- The History and Burial Records of Stoneham Cemetery, Stoneham, Texas, compiled by Frances and Lois Stoneham, 1980
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Grimes County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Grimes County TXGenWeb Maps and History
- Grimes County 1940 Highway Map
- Grimes County 1961 Highway Map
- Texas Counties Map from TXGenWeb; click on county to go to the county TXGenWeb website
- Texas DOT Map of Grimes County
Military
- Grimes County Veterans Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Grimes County Confederate Pension Applications
- 12th Texas Infantry, Company D most appear to be from Grimes County
- Confederate Soldies buried in Grimes County
- Spanish-American War Veterans in Grimes County
- Grimes County Memorial Page Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Confederate Memorial Plaza in Anderson Photo on Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Confederate Memorial Statue in Anderson Photo on Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Veteran Memorial Plaque in Anderson Photo on Grimes County TXGenWeb
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grimes County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Grimes County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- The Navasota Examiner
- Newspaper Articles from Grimes County GrimesCounty TXGenWeb
Obituaries
- Grimes County Obituaries Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Navasota Examiner Current Obituaries
- Bryan-College Station Eagle Current Obituaries Many obituaries from Grimes County are listed here
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project for Texas
- AfriGeneas African American Death Records Database
- Obituary Depot Texas
- Obituary Daily Times
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Grimes County Probates, Wills, and Estate Records Grimes County TXGenWeb
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Grimes County TXGenWeb Vital Records
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 United States World War II Draft Records Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
- Navasota Public Library
1411 E. Washington Ave.
Navasota, Texas 77868;
(936)825-6744
- Horlock House History Center
1215 East Washington Ave.
Navasota, Texas 77868
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Grimes County TXGenWeb
- Grimes County USGenWeb Archives
- Grimes County government
- Grimes County at Genforum
- Grimes County at Kindred Trails
- Grimes County Resource Page at Rootsweb
- City of Navasota Website, lists historical properties in Navasota.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grimes County, Texas. Page 665 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Grimes County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcg11
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 00:33.
- This page has been accessed 2,829 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
