Great Haywood, StaffordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
Great Haywood St Stephen is an Ecclesisatical Pairsh formed in 1854 from parts of Colwich, Staffordshire and Stowe, Staffordshire parishes.
HAYWOOD, GREAT, a township, partly in the parish of Colwich, and partly in that of Stowe, S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county, of Stafford, 4 miles (N. W.) from Rugeley; containing 765 inhabitants. The village, which is of neat appearance, is on the Lichfield and Stafford road, and on the Trent and Mersey canal, at the point where the latter is joined by the Staffordshire and Worcestershire canal. Here is an extensive wharf; also a paper and a corn mill.
From: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 454-456. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51018 Date accessed: 03 May 2011.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1855-1969 Mar 1855-1979 Bur 1855-1946
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1855-1865 Mar 1855-1864 Bur 1855-1866
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordhire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 May 2012, at 16:59.
- This page has been accessed 143 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
