Great Driffield, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1556.
DRIFFIELD, GREAT (All Saints), a market-town andparish, and the head of a union, in the Bainton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 29 miles (E. by N.) from York, and 193 (N.) from London; with the chapelry of Little Driffield and the township of Emswell with Kelley-thorpe. This place is pleasantly situated at the foot of the Wolds, and near the confluence of several streams, which, uniting their waters, flow south-eastward to Frodingham,
There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists. At Danesdale, a hamlet in the parish, are numerous tumuli called the "Danes' Graves," supposed to have been raised over the bodies of the Danish chiefs who fell in a battle said to have taken place in the immediate vicinity.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464218. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 12 March 2013, at 15:15.
- This page has been accessed 414 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More