Gordon County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Gordon County
Guide to Gordon County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Gordon County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 13, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Calhoun |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Gordon County Courthouse 101 Boston Road Calhoun, GA 30701-2244 Phone: 706.629.3795 Gordon County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1864
and land records; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death,
burial and probate records[1]
History
Local histories are available for Gordon County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1850--Gordon County was created 13 February 1850 from Cass (named changed to Bartow County 6 Dec. 1861) andFloyd Counties.
County seat: Calhoun[2]
Boundary Changes
Multiple small boundary change from 1852-1877. Involved Cass/Bartow, Floyd, Murray, Pickens, and Walker Counties.[3]
Record Loss
1864 -- Courthouse burned by Sherman's troops. Some record loss including early marriage records.
1888 -- Courthouse damaged by Storm. For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Calhoun
Plainville
Reeves Station
Resaca
Sugar Valley
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- African American 1908-1965 microfilmed images available free online in the Georgia Virtual Vault.
Cemeteries
Bethesda Baptist Church Cemetery (incomplete);
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Pitts, Lulie. History of Gordon County, Georgia. Calhoun, Ga.: Press of the Calhoun Times, c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Reeve, Jewell B. Climb the Hills of Gordon: Stories of Gordon County and Calhoun, Georgia. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1979.
- Pitts, Lulie. History of Gordon County, Georgia. Calhoun, Ga.: Press of the Calhoun Times, c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Gordon County.
- May 13-15, 1864 = Resaca[4]
- May 17, 1864 = Adairsville[5]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gordon County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Gordon County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Calhoun Times - 1,511 issues spanning 1924-2008 freely available via Google News Archive
- Calhoun Times - 1870 to 1976 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
- Calhoun Times and Gordon County News - 957 issues spanning 1967-2006 freely available via Google News Archive
- Cherokee Phoenix (New Echota) - 1829 to 1834 (prior to county creation) available online as part of Georgia Historic Newspapers
- The Confederate Flag - 13 November 1861 available at Chicago Historical Society Library, 20 November 1861 available at Emory University
- Democratic Platform, 8 September 1859 and Georgia Platform, 9 September 1858 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
- Gordon County Citizen - 1894 to 1895 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
- Gordon County News - 1940 to 1976 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
- The Southern Statesman - 5 April 1855 available at the American Antiquarian Society
- Gordon County Obituaries clippings search from Digital Library of Georgia
- Bartow Press - 900 issues spanning 1983-2006 freely available via Google News Archive
- Georgia Pioneer, The Standard, and Cassville Standard - newspapers from Cassville (parent county) covering 1840-1845, and 1852 to 1860 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
- The Standard (Cassville) - 1852, 1853, 1857, 1858, 1859 extracts available online at Bartow County GenWeb
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Digital images of Gordon County Wills 1856-1884. See testators. Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriages
- 1864-1935 and African American 1908-1965 microfilmed images available free online in the Georgia Virtual Vault.
- Forsythe, Donald Forbes. Gordon County, Georgia Marriages: Books A, B, & C (White). Georgetown, Tex: D.F. Forsythe, 1994. Available free online from Family History Books.
- 1864-1870 - Gordon County Marriage Index 1864-1870. Batch M002545 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1864-1892 - Gordon County Marriage Books A and B Index 1864-1892. Batch M712941 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1893-1895 - Gordon County Marriage Index 1893-1895. Batch M712942 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- Gladney, Robert Hoyt.Gordon County, Georgia, Marriage Book A, 1864-1880: An Index. Adairsville, Ga: Oothcaloga Chapter, Georgia Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 1984.
- Ingmire, Frances Terry.Gordon County, Georgia Marriage Records, 1864-1884. St. Louis, Mo: F.T. Ingmire, 1985.
- Hageness, MariLee Beatty.Marriage Licenses, 1864-1870, Gordon County, Georgia. Anniston, AL: MLH Research, 1999.
- Hall, Patsy Payne, and Frances Martin Stubbs. Marriage Log Gordon County, Georgia: Listed by Brides & Grooms : Includes Colored Marriages. Oak Park, Ill: Glyph Notes, 2002.
Death
- 1869-70, 1879-80 - Gordon County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Gordon County GAGenWeb - free genealogical resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Gordon County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioners ($)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gordon County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ “Historical Atlas of Georgia Counties: Gordon County,” GeorgiaInfo (http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/histcountymaps/gordonhistmaps.htm : accessed 10 September 2012).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 04:22.
- This page has been accessed 2,059 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

