Giles County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Giles County
Giles County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Giles County (established 1809) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Giles County, Tennessee | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
| | |||||||
| Location in the state of Tennessee | |||||||
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded: | November 14, 1809 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Pulaski | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| |||||||
Giles County Tennessee Quick Dates
Giles County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1908 | 1865 | 1908 | 1820 | 1810 | 1860 |
Giles County Tennessee Courthouse
Giles County Courthouse
PO Box 678;
Pulaski, TN 38478-0678
Phone: 931.363.1509
County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records.
Clerk and Master has divorce records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
P.O. Box 678
1 Public Square
Pulaski, Tennessee 38478-0678
Phone: 1-931-363-1509
Old Courthouse Records
Clara M. Parker, Director
1 Public Square
Phone: 1-931-363-8434
E-mail: gcarchives@bellsouth.net
All county records from 1810 to 1900 are stored in this department. They cover deeds, wills, marriages, and records from the Chancery, County and Circuit Courts.
Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Giles County Tennessee History
Middle Tennessee county.
The county was named after Virginia Senator William B. Giles (1762-1830), who later served as the Virginia's Governor.
Parent County
1809--Giles County was created 14 November 1809 from Maury County.
County seat: Pulaski[3]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[4] (female)
- Hear it spoken[5] (male)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1813, 1857 and 1907 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
- Lost census: 1890
- Lost marriages: 1809 to 1865
- Lost probate: 1809 to 1860
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Giles County Tennessee Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Anthony Hill | Cole (hist.) | Kedron | Pulaski |
| Ardmore | Conway | Krapp Spring | Rich |
| Aspen Hill | Crescent View | Lesters | Richland (hist.) |
| Aymett Town | Diana | Liberty | Riversburg |
| Baugh | Dickson Town | Liberty Hill | Sexton |
| Beech Hill | Elkmont springs | Lower Elkton (hist.) | Speiden |
| Berea | Elkton | Lynnville | Stella |
| Bethel | Five Points | Malone | Sumac |
| Bivens | Forest Hill (hist.) | Marbuts | Tarpley |
| Blooming Grove | Frankewing | Marcella (hist.) | Trigg |
| Blue Creek | Friendship | Minor Hill | Vinta Mill |
| Bodenham | Gileston (hist.) | Morrell Mill | Waco |
| Bradshaw | Goodspring | Oak Grove | Wales |
| Brick Church | Gordon | Odd Fellows Hall | Weakley |
| Bryson | Green Field | Olivet | Westside |
| Bufords | Happy Hill | Peach | Wheelerton |
| Bunker Hill | Harwell | Pisgah | Woodrow |
| Campbellsville | Highland Heights | Poplar Hill | Yokley |
| Chapmans | Jonestown | Prospect |
Neighboring Counties
Giles County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Giles County biography, census, court, history, probate, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
A good place to start is Byron and Samuel Sistler's Every Name Index to 18 Middle Tennessee County Record Books (Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1992) FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22sb. It is a comprehensive index to eight publications about Giles County, Tennessee records. It also covers records from nearby Bedford and Lincoln counties.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Giles County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African Americans
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. [Includes free African Americans in this county.]
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Giles County linking to the information about the people buried there,
- Giles County, TN Cemetery Records, part of the TNGenWeb Cemetery Database, lists many cemeteries in the county, often with indexes and transcripts of the burials.
- Giles County, Tennessee, USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project lists many cemeteries in the county and has transcripts of the tombstones arranged by cemetery.
- Giles County cemetery information with transcriptions on TNGenweb Project
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Giles county. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- For a list of known cemeteries in Giles County, click here
Census
1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Giles County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Giles County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
1820
- Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
- Lauderdale County Library (Florence, Alabama). Vertical Files, Census Fecords.Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1978. FHL 1034009 Item 2
- Presley, Leister E. Giles County, Tennessee Population Schedules of the United States Census of 1820.S.p., 19-?FHL 976.861 X2p 1820
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. [Includes free African Americans in this county.]
1840
- Smith, Linda H.1840 Giles County, Tennessee, Census. S.I.: Linda H. Smith, 2001. FHL 976.861 X2s 1840
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Middle District, Giles County on pages 155-156.]
1850
- Lightfoot, Marise P. and Evelyn B. Shackelford. Maury County Neighbors : Records of Giles, Lewis and Marshall Counties, Tennessee.Mt. Pleasant, Tennessee : s.n., 1967. FHL 976.8 V22Ls
- Porch, Deane. Giles County, Tennessee 1850 Census.S.p.: Deane Porch, 1971. FHL 976.861 X2p 1850
1860
- Smith, Linda H. 1860 Giles County, Tennessee, Census. S.I.:Linda H. Smith, 200-? FHL 976.861 X2s 1860
1880
- Scanned census images [in the USGenWeb Archives]
- Sistler, Byron H. 1880 Census, Giles County, Tennessee.Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler & Associates, 2000. FHL 976.861 X2s 1880
1890 Lost, but a subtitute is available:
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Illinois: Byron Sistler and Associates, 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890
1910
- Scanned census images [in the USGenWeb Archives]
1920
- Scanned census images [in the USGenWeb Archives]
Church
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
Methodist
• [1813-1867] Minutes of Trustees and Building Committee of Pisgah (Methodist) Church. TSLA, Roll 22 of Record Group 107. GSC Associates Historical Records Products ,for a small fee, sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
Presbyterian
• [1828-1830] First Presbyterian Church & Masonic Hall, Pulaski, Tennessee. TSLA, Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
• [1843-1885] First Presbyterian Church & Masonic Hall, Pulaski, Tennessee. TSLA, Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
Court
• [1813-1815] County Court Minute Book B. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
• [1816-1817] County Court Minute Book C. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published byTSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
• [1823-1825] County Court Minute Book H, Parts I & II. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
• [1825-1827] Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minute Book 1. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
•[1833] County Court Minutes. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
DNA
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Giles County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.- [Doss] Descendant of John Doss, b. abt 1809 of Henry County, Virginia, d. 1868 Giles County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 81232). Genetic signature available online (labeled Gi-1), genealogical description available online, courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families.
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Giles, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 70,000 entries.
- Butler, Margaret. Legacy: Early Families of Giles County; an Account of Some of the Pioneer Families of Giles County, Tennessee and Their Contributions to the Political, Professional, Economic and Social Scenes of the Day, Pictures of Some of the Houses in which They Lived. Pulaski, Tenn.: Sain Pub., 1991. FHL US/CAN Book 976.861 H2b.
- Giles County Heritage Book Committee. The Heritage of Giles County, Tennessee. Waynesville, N.C.: County Heritage, 2006. FHL US/CAN Book 976.861 H2hg.
- Giles County Historical Society. Giles County Lineage Book. 2 vols. Huntsville, Ala.: M.M. Cowart, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.861 D2gc.
Bibliography
- [Abernathy] See also Rose.
- [Abernathy] Abernathy--McCaffaty Family Bible Records, ca. 1843-1929. MSS., TSLA. FHL US/CAN Film 968963 Item 4.
- [Ashmore] Russell, Oscar G. Descendants of Joshua Ashmore. 1991?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 As36r.
- [Auten] Langston, Kathryn. Auten News. [Newsletter]. Lavon, Texas: K. Langston, 1997-2002. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.27305 Au81a.
- [Barnes] Barnes, Logan G. The Barnes and Correlated Families, ca. 1578-1948. Typescript, microfilmed 1985. FHL US/CAN Film 1035740 Item 5.
- [Benson] Jackson-Laufer, Guida M. Virginia Diaspora: Southern Bensons and Related Families: McCracken/Dickson/Scruggs/Clack/ Foster/Davis/Youngblood/Patterson/Harwell/Hume/Fowler/Many More: and Civil War Memoirs of Lt. Peru Hardy Benson, C.S.A.: and Dunkle's 1869 List of "The Immortal Six Hundred" Prisoners of War. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B443j; also CD-ROM no. 825.
- [Blasingim] Blasingim--Walker--Coffman Family Bible Records, 1833-1931. MSS., Giles County Historical Society, Pulaski, Tenn. Microfilmed 1974. FHL US/CAN Film 968963 Item 8.
- [Boyd] McWilliams, Mike. The Pioneering Roots of James Jackson Boyd and Mary Abigal Hayter: Ancestors of the Following Names, Boyd, Campbell, Darroch, Dickson, Estill, Evans, Hatton, Hayter, Hutton, Smith, Wallace, Woods. Dallas, Texas: M. McWilliams, 2005. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B692mm. Supplement: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B692mm supp.
- [Brown] Brown, Alice Faye Weaver. Inman-Wilson-Carden-Brown: Families of Tennessee -- Missouri -- Arkansas -- California -- Missouri -- Indian Territory -- Oklahoma. Stroud, Oklahoma: A.F.W. Brown, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 In6ba.
- [Carden] Brown, Alice Faye Weaver. Inman-Wilson-Carden-Brown: Families of Tennessee -- Missouri -- Arkansas -- California -- Missouri -- Indian Territory -- Oklahoma. Stroud, Oklahoma: A.F.W. Brown, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 In6ba.
- [Cockrell, Cockrill] See Rose.
- [Coffman] Blasingim--Walker--Coffman Family Bible Records, 1833-1931. MSS., Giles County Historical Society, Pulaski, Tenn. Microfilmed 1974. FHL US/CAN Film 968963 Item 8.
- [Coggin] Coggin, B.G. Coggin Family. Nettleton, Mississippi: B.G. Coggin, 1960. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C656cb.
- [Comer] Comer Family Bible Records, 1861-1959. MSS., TSLA. Microfilmed 1974. FHL US/CAN Film 968963 Item 5.
- [Craig] Craig, Marion Stark. John Craig and Some Descendants: Two Centuries of a Southern Family, 1773-1976. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1977. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C844a.
- [Creasy] Holt, Stacey E. The Creacy/Creecy Family of Wayne County, Tennessee. Collinwood, Tenn.: S.E. Holt, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 8024.
- [Crowson] Crowson, Noel A. The Trail of the Crowson Family: Soldiers, Frontiersmen, and Pioneers. n.p.: N.A. Crowson, 1995. FHL US/CAN Film 2393818 Item 14.
- [Davidson] Palmer, Floreine D. Descendants of Joseph Peter Davidson. Sarasota, Fla.: Aceto Bookmen, 1996. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D283p.
- [Davis] Wiley Jarett Davis - Mary Ann Tedford Family Bible Record: Pocahontas-Hardeman County Tennessee. MSS. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D299wj.
- [Davis] Whitley, Edythe Johns Rucker. Sam Davis, Confederate Hero, 1842-1863. [Nashville, Tenn.?: n.p.], 1947. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D29we.
- [Davis] Davis, Richard W. William & Emeline: The Tennessee Beginning. Wyandotte, Oklahoma: Gregath, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D299drw.
- [Deavenport] Deavenport, 1766-1926. 1926. FHL US/CAN Fiche 6005053.
- [Doggett] Skinner, Eugene Elam. The Ancestry of Carolyn Call Skinner. [Dallas, Texas?]: E.E. Skinner, [1950?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sk34s.
- [East] Young, John E. Thomas East, Sarah Graves: Their Descendants. Fresno, Calif.: J.E. Young, 1981. FHL FAM HIST Large Q Book 929.273 Ea77y.
- [Erwin] Knisely, Mary Jane. John Armstrong Erwin and Alice Brandon of North Carolina. Orlando, Fla.: M.H. Knisely, [197-?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 3450; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- [Erwin] Knisely, Mary Jane. Documentary Material on John Armstrong Erwin: A Veteran of the Revolutionary War, Enlisted in Rowan County, N.C., Died in Giles County, Tenn. Orlando, Fla.: M. Knisely, 199-?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Er94km.
- [Garner] Fletcher, Jouise B. Garner. Garner and Boone and Associated Families. Clifton, Colo.: J.B.G. Fletcher, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G186f.
- [Glasco] Boucher, Jessie Faye Glasco and Mary Helen Glasco Hawkins. From the Root of Jesse: The Biography of Jesse Martin Glasco, 1818-1886. Quitman, Texas: F.G. Boucher, 1995. FHL FAM HIST Book 921.73 G461b.
- [Glover] Fletcher, Jouise B. Garner. Garner and Boone and Associated Families. Clifton, Colo.: J.B.G. Fletcher, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G186f.
- [Harris] Lies, Fay Howell. Harris Family, ca. 1775-1962. Typescript. FHL US/CAN Film 1674175 Item 6.
- [Hudson] McMaster, Phyllis Olewine. Hudsons of Hardeman County, TN. Albany, Oregon: P. McMaster, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H867m.
- [Inman] Brown, Alice Faye Weaver. Inman-Wilson-Carden-Brown: Families of Tennessee -- Missouri -- Arkansas -- California -- Missouri -- Indian Territory -- Oklahoma. Stroud, Oklahoma: A.F.W. Brown, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 In6ba.
- [Johns] Snider, Marolyn. Looking Up the Johns Tree. Ozark, Missouri: M. Snider, [198-?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 J62s.
- [Kennamer] Kennamer, John Robert and Lorrin Garfield Kennamer. The Kennamer Family. Nashville, Tenn.: McQuiddy Printing Co., 1924. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K36k; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- [Kennamer] Kennamer, John Robert and Lorrin Garfield Kennamer. The Kennamer Family. 2nd ed., 1973. Online description.
- [Knox] Knox, Margery Stewart. Passengers on the Wings of Time: A Knox, Stewart Genealogy. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K77k.
- [McLaurine, McLaurin]
- [May] Wampler, Roy H., John B. Haines, and David Hugh May. May Family Genealogy: The Family of Robert E. Lee May and Wife Mary M. "Maggie" Dickey: Ancestors and Descendants. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2002. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M451wr.
- [Mitchell] Mitchell, Gwenneth Aenone Marshall. The Mitchells of Linn Flat: A Story of Linn Flat and a Family Who Have Their Roots There and of Their Ancestors Who Were Pioneers There. Austin, Texas: G.A.M. Mitchell, 1981. FHL US/CAN Film 1318150 Item 6.
- [Myers] Myers, Wilbur Thomas. William Henry Myers. Sulphur Springs, Texas: W.T. Myers, [198-?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M992mwt.
- [Powers] Ames, Edwina Gray Powers and Stanley Richard Ames. Gray, Powers and Their Interrelated Families, Descendants of Col. Thomas Holden Wade: Including Arledge, Bailes, Butts (Virginia), Dupree, Hendricks, Legg, Martin, Massenburg, McWilliams, Sims, Wade of Limestone County, Alabama. Rochester, New York: S.R. Ames Enterprises, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G791am.
- [Rose] Rose, Virginia. Colonel William Rose of Tennessee. Jonesboro, AR: Sammons Print. Co., 1939. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R72r; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Sims] Sims, Almon James. The Paris (Pariss-Parish) Henry Sims Branch of the Sims Family of Scotland, England, Ireland and America. [Knoxville, Tenn.?: Unknown, 1948. Digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Stegall] Henderson, Charline Roye and Edith Jenkins Simpson. Supplement to the Stegall Family of Pontotoc County, Mississippi: From 1735 Jamestown, Virginia to 1991 Pontotoc County, Mississippi. Tupelo, Mississippi: E.J. Simpson, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 St32sej supp.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- [Street] Street, John Kennedy, 1837 - 1914. John Kennedy Street papers, 1858 - 1899. Contributor: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Chiefly letters from John Kennedy Street to his wife, Melinda Pace Street (1839 - 1899 )describing marches, camp life, picket duty, sickness, hospitals, bushwahackers, religious revivals, and the formation of a Young Men's Christian Association in his brigade.
- [Sutterfield] Sutterfield, Gene. Sutterfield-Satterfield Genealogy. Pencil Bluff, Ark.: H.G. Sutterfield, [19-?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Su86s.
- [Taylor] Byars, Neva Fern Young. Some George Taylors of Henry County, Virginia, and Giles County, Tennessee. Albuquerque, N.M.: N.F.Y. Byars, 1978. FHL FAM nbsp;HIST Book 929.273 T214b.
- [Teasdale, Tisdale] See Rose.
- [Tenery] Weddington, Andy Simmons. Genealogy of the Tenery Family. Pulaski, Tenn.: A.S. Weddington, 1957. FHL US/CAN Fiche 6018573.
- [Tuttle] Hawk, Margaret Irene and Julia Sevarine Cannon Reed. Solomon Tuttle Revisited: A Supplement to "Solomon Tuttle of old Mt. Comfort" by Julia Sevarine Reed ... Fairfax, Va.: M.I. Hawk, 1989. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 T888h.
- [Westmoreland] Claypool, Edward A. Westmorland Lineage and Descendants of Thomas Westmoreland, the Immigrant to Virginia. Typescript, Rhode Island Historical Society, Providence, R.I., 1908. FHL US/CAN Film 22337 Item 7.
- [White] Davis, Richard W. William & Emeline: The Tennessee Beginning. Wyandotte, Oklahoma: Gregath, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D299drw.
- [Whitley] Whitley, Lala Vadeina. Whitley History. 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W59wL.
- [Whitley] Whitley, Lala Vadeina. Whitley Data. MSS., microfilmed 1997. FHL US/CAN Film 1750833 Item 13.
- [Wilson] Smith, Othella Boyd. Descendants of Hiram and Mariah Wilson of Marshall County, Tennessee. Typescript, National Library, DAR. Microfilmed 1971. FHL US/CAN Film 879650 Item 2.
- [Wilson] Coal, Darlene White. Wilsons of Abbott's Creek, Lexington, NC and Wilsons of Pott's Creek, Rowan County, NC: Wilson Family Notes, Giles County, Tennessee. Orangeville, Calif.: D.W. Cole, 1988. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W691cw.
- [Wilson] Brown, Alice Faye Weaver. Inman-Wilson-Carden-Brown: Families of Tennessee -- Missouri -- Arkansas -- California -- Missouri -- Indian Territory -- Oklahoma. Stroud, Oklahoma: A.F.W. Brown, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 In6ba.
- [Yancey] "Alfred M. Yancey of Giles County, Tennessee (1789- ???)," Dennis J. Yancey et al, Yancey Family Genealogical Collection. MSS, 1995. FHL US/CAN Film 1598377 Item 19.
- [Young] Young, John E. Young Family of Early Giles County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 1986. FHL US/CAN Film 1421702 Item 15.
Land
Deeds
Giles County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1810 and is located at the Courthouse, P.O. Box 678, Madison & 1st Street, Pulaski, Tennessee 38478-0678; (931) 363-5137. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deed books 1790-1889 with indexes1810-1931; land entry books 1824-1889.
- [1810-1859] General Index to Deeds, Book A.These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
Local Land Entries Issued by North Carolina
The original Giles County land entries issued by North Carolina are kept at the North Carolina State Archives in Raleigh. On their website, users can bring up a list of land entries issued in Giles County, even though it belonged to the state of Tennessee at the time. Years covered: 1778-1820.
Instructions:
- Follow this link to conduct a "Call Number Search" using the MARS Catalog on their site.
- Using the pull down window, change "Call Numbers starting" to "A MarsID matching."
- Type 12.14.8 (Windows Vista users may need to include a period after the last digit, for example 12.14.8.) and click Search. This is the specific MarsID for Giles County.
- Click on the entry that is returned: "Tennessee, Giles County."
- In the window that pops up, click Show List of Child Records and a list of Giles County land entries will be produced. Browse to find abstracts of the original records.[6]
N.B. You can also search by name through the Basic Search, but it lacks soundex capabilities.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
- Goodspeed firm, publishers, Chicago. History of Tennessee, from the earliest time to the present; together with an historical and a biographical sketch of Giles, Lincoln, Franklin and Moore counties.Nashville, Tenn., The Goodspeed Publishing Company, 1886. Free digital copy.
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Giles County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
- 1835 Pension Roll
- 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions
- Giles county, Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War Includes short biographical information on soldiers.
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Middle District, Giles County on pages 155-156.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Giles County pensioners (p. 45)]
- Giles County, Tennessee War of 1812 Pensioners Includes short biographical information on soldiers. Courtesy:TNGenWeb
Civil War
Civil War service men from Giles County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Giles County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Field's) - CSA - Company K.
- 1st/27th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K.
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Clack's) - CSA - Companies A, B, C, E, G and I.
- 10th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company E.
- 11th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Gordon's) - CSA - Companies A and B.
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Nixon's) - CSA
- 32nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies B, E, F and H.
- 53rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A, C, D, E, G, I and K.
Union Soldiers
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company I.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company I.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Giles County:
- Quintard, Charles Todd. Doctor Quintard, Chaplain C.S.A. and Second Bishop of Tennessee. Sewanee, Tennessee: The University Press, 1905. Free digital copy. Chaplain of the 1st Tennessee Regiment.
- Giles County Soliders, 11th Tennessee Cavalry Battalion 6th (1st) Tennessee Cavalry Regiment and Holman's Battalion and the 11th Tn Cavalry. A brief history, organization and partial rosters.
- 3rd Tennessee Infantry, (accessed 26 Feb 2012). A brief history and organization.
- 32nd Tennessee Infantry, (accessed 22 Oct 2011). A brief history and organization.
- 41st Infantry, (accessed 22 Oct 2011). A brief history and organization.
- 53rd Tennessee Infantry, (accessed 22 Oct 2011). A brief history and organization.
- USGenWeb Archives, Giles County Tennessee Archives, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Civil War Oral History.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives,Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Giles County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Giles County, page 334-335.
- TNGenWeb, Giles County Tennessee, Index to Civil War Records, (accessed 30 Jan 2012).
- The Martin Guards, (accessed 26 Feb 2012). The roster of Company K, 1st Tennessee Infantry, CSA.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Giles County click on the following cities or towns:
Occupations
- Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Giles County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Giles County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Family Findings
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Giles County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f. Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan. 1978) includes an abstract of the 1812 Giles County tax list.
- Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
- Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Giles County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Prisons
Learn if your Giles County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
- Wills, 1830-1917 (5 vols.)
- Bonds, Letters, 1865-1897 (3 vols.)
- Inventories, 1871-1889 (Vols. A-B)
- Minutes, 1873-1876 (2 vols.)
- Settlements, 1865-1903 (7 vols.)
Private Papers
- Adams, Louis L. Diary of Louis L. Adams of Pulaski, Giles County, Tennessee. Original records, Tennessee State Library, Nashville, Tenn. Microfilmed by TSLA in 1974. FHL US/CAN Film 968963 Item 13.
Probate
The Giles County Court has responsibility for the probate records.
The following Giles County probate records have been abstracted or indexed:
- [1814-1900] Parker, Clara M. Giles County, Will Abstract, 1814-1900. [N.p.]: C.M. Parker, 1988. Indexed. (FHL book 976.861 P2pc.)
- [1814-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's wills.]
- [1830-1857] Miscellaneous Wills.These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 22 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
- [1867-1910] White, Elizabeth W. Estate Settlements of Giles County Court. Pulaski, Tennessee: HBA Rapid Print. Indexed. Contains File Boxes 1-40. (FHL book 976.861 P28w.)
Taxation
The following Giles County tax records have been abstracted:[7]
- [1812] Hughes, Thomas P. and Jewel B. Standefer. "Giles County, Tennessee Tax List, 1812," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Summer 1974):78-80. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1812] Tax List, 1812, Giles County Historical Society Bulletin. Pulaski TN: Oct 1977. Vol. 4 Iss. 4.
- [1812, 1819] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1812 and 1819 tax lists.]
- [1812] Giles County, Tennessee Tax List, 1812, Family Findings, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan. 1978). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, seePeriodicals.
- [1812] Tax List, 1812, Wagoner Genealogist. Wagoner OK: Sep 1987. Vol. 7 Iss. 3.
- [1813] "Giles County Land Sold for Unpaid 1813 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Spring 1997):34. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1817] "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Giles County.]
- [1836] Douthat, James L. 1836 Giles County, Tennessee Civil Districts and Tax List. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2004. FHL US/CAN Book 976.861 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1836] County Tax Listings by Civil Districts, 1836, Tennessee Genealogy and History. Signal Mountain TN: 2004. Vol. 8 Iss. 1-2.
- [1836] Tatum, Ausborne C. and Harry M. Cleveland Jr. "Giles County, Tennessee - 1836 Map of Civil Districts" and "Giles County, Tennessee - 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Fall 1992):102-108; Vol. 39, No. 4 (Winter 1992):175-180; Vol. 40, No. 1 (Spring 1993):23-26, 42. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, seePeriodicals.
- [1836] Tax List, 1836, Giles County Historical Society Bulletin. Pulaski TN: Apr 1997. Vol. 24; Jul 1997. Vol. 24; Oct 1997. Vol. 24; Jan 1998. Vol. 25; Apr 1998. Vol. 25 ; Jul 1998. Vol. 25.
- [1848] Tax List, 16th Dist., 1848, Giles County Historical Society Bulletin. Pulaski TN: Apr 1999. Vol. 26.
- [1890] County Tax List, District 2, 1890, Giles County Historical Society Bulletin. Pulaski TN: Jan 1996. Vol. 23.
- [1896] Tax List, 1896, Giles County Historical Society Bulletin. Pulaski TN: Oct 1995. Vol. 22.
Vital Records
Marriage
The original Giles County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. The courthouse burned in 1864 and all marriage records before 1865 are lost. The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
Additional indexes using alternative marriage sources are listed below.
The following Giles County marriage records are microfilmed:
- [1865-1998] Available at the TSLA. These include indexed bonds, and bound marriage volumes.
- [1865-1954] Available at the Family History Library. Some volumes are indexed.FHL 1928675
The following Giles County marriage records have been indexed:
- [1818-1862] Smith, Jean W. Marriages of Giles County, Tennessee, 1818 through 1862. Microreproduction of original published: Elkmont, Ala. : [s.n], 1952. FHL 924006 Item 11
- [1818-1870] Lucas, Silas Emmett and Ella Lee Sheffield. 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2t v. 1 [Abstracts include names of brides, grooms, bondsmen, marriage bond dates, and officiators for weddings in this county for the roughly specified years. Marriage data taken from an index card file at the TSLA. Authors do not specify whether or not the card index completely indexes this county's marriages.]
- [1818-1864] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL ;US/CAN ;Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
- [1837-1860] Hill, Jewel Adams Early Giles County, Tennessee marriages, c1837-1860, from various sources. Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008.FHL book 976.861 V25. Digitized version available at FamilySearch Books Online
- 1865-1895 - Giles County Marriage Index 1865-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
- [1865-1885] Cosby, Jean B. Giles County, Tennessee, Marriage Books, 1871-1885. Pulaski, Tennessee: HBA Rapid Print, 19--? FHL 976.861 V28c 3 vols.
- [1865-1870] Marriage Records, 1865-1870, Giles County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript. FHL 24653 Item 4. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells six Giles County CDs, which include a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
- Giles Co., Tennessee Marriages, 1800's. Typescript on film. FHL 924488 Item 2
- Grimsley, Mildred A. and Genevieve Jensen. Early Tennesse Marriages : Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Shelby and Sumner Counties.Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1994. FHL 1598122 Item 6
- Lightfoot, Marise P. and Evelyn B. Shackelford. Maury County neighbors : records of Giles, Lewis and Marshall Counties, Tennessee. Mt. Pleasant, Tennessee : [s.n.], 1967. FHL 976.8 V22Ls
- Parker, Clara M. Early Marriages of Giles County, Tennessee. Pulaski, Tennessee: HBA Rapid Print, 199? FHL 976.861 V28p
- Weddington, Andy Simmons. Previously unpublished early marriage records of Giles County, Tennessee. Round Rock, Texas : Williamson County Genealogical Society (Texas), 1994. FHL 976.861 V2w
- Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($) Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
- [1810-1869] Marriage Records. [9]
- [1810-1849] Marriage Records: Early–1850. [10]
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Giles County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, including some separate divorce cases, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
For deaths of Methodists in Giles County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Giles County Tennessee Genealogy Libraries
Giles County Public Library
122 South Second Street
Pulaski, TN 38478
Telephone: 1-931-363-2720
Fax: 1-931-424-7032
E-mail: glibrary@bellsouth.net
Robert B. Jones Memorial Library and Museum
135 Main Street
Lynnville, TN 38472
Phone: 1-931-527-3466
Family History Centers
Giles County Tennessee Genealogy Societies
Giles County Historical Society
P.O. Box 693
Pulaski, TN 38478
Phone: 1-931-363-2720 (ask for Genealogy Room)
Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Giles County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
Giles County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Giles County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Giles County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Giles County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TN-SOUTHCENTRAL-L (South Central Tennessee List)
Giles County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Giles County, Tennessee page 640, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of David W. Murphy, Professor, Madisonville Community College, Madisonville, Ky. (2010).
- ↑ J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.
- ↑ Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.
- ↑ Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1992. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 229.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 16:00.
- This page has been accessed 10,973 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



