Genesee County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Genesee County
Guide to Genesee County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Genesee County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 28, 1835 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Flint |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Genesee County Courthouse 900 S Saginaw St. Flint, MI 48502 Phone: (810) 257-3225 Genesee County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death from 1867,
marriage and court records from 1835
and divorce records from 1890.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Cemetery custodians have burial. [1]
History
Genesee County is located northwest of the Detroit area and is north of Livingston County and Oakland County. It has a number of communities, including Grand Blanc, and the county seat is Flint.
Parent County
1835--Genesee County was created 28 March 1835 from Lapeer, Saginaw and Shiawassee Counties. County seat: Flint [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Flint
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Genesee County, Michigan (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Genesee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Genesee County.
- -
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Birth Records Table Alcona County Genealogical SocietyFree membership with registration.
- Marriage Records Table Alcona County Genealogical SocietyFree membership with registration.
- Death Records Table Alcona County Genealogical SocietyFree membership with registration.
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Flint Michigan Family History Center
- Grand Blanc Michigan Family History Center
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Genessee County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 23:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,756 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
