Gaular (Indre Holmedal), NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Sogn og Fjordane County > Gaular
Contents |
Church Records
Contains the parish registers from the parishes Sande, Bygstad (Svanø), and Vik (Hopperstad, Hove) with Hæstad chapel in Gaular clerical district.
Gaular was called Holmedal clerical district before 1755, when it was divided in two districts - Indre Holmedal (Gaular) and Ytre Holmedal (Fjaler). The name was changed from Indre Holmedal to Gaular in 1911, but these books are all cataloged as if it was only called Gaular clerical district. The records before 1785 are very difficult to read.
Microfilm copies are available at the Family History Library for the years 1755-1930.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records
- Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Gaular (Indre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Sande, Bygstad and Vik i Gaular. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library; as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- Folketælling 31 December 1865. The 1865 census for Gaular (Indre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Gaular, Bygstad, Sande and Vik i Gaular. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library; as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Dgiital Archives) and at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
- Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875. The 1875 census for Gaular (Indre Holmedal) include the parishes of Gaular, Sande, Bygstad and Vik i Gaular. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900. The 1900 census for Gaular (Indre Holmedal) include the parishes of Gaular, Sande, Bygstad and Vik i Gaular. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) and at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
- Folketellingen for Norge den 1ste desember 1910. The 1910 census for Gaular (Indre Holmedal) is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
Court Records
Land Records
Farm Books
Hjelmeland, Olaf, Gardssoga for Gaular, Gaular : Utgjeven av Gaular Sogelag, 1955-1968. A history of Gaular in Sogn og Fjordane county and a genealogy of the people who lived there. FHL 948.34/G1 H2h A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.34-G1 H2h V1 - Gardssoga for Gaular.pdf
| The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
Probate Records
1677-1881: Probates may be found in Sunnfjord judicial district.
1794-1846: Clerical probates may be found in Sunnfjord Deanery.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 9 April 2013, at 15:24.
- This page has been accessed 443 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
