Fulton County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Fulton County
Guide to Atlanta and Fulton County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Fulton County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 20, 1853 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Atlanta |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Fulton County Courthouse 136 Pryor Sreet SW Atlanta, GA 30303-3405 Phone: 404.730.5300 Fulton County Website |
Fulton County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior;Court has divorce, court and;land records from 1854[1]
Fulton County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Fulton County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1853--Fulton County was created 20 December 1853 from DeKalb, Campbell and Milton (became part of Fulton County in 1932) Counties.
County seat: Atlanta [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Fulton County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Fulton County Georgia Genealogy Resources
African American
- 1866-1878 - Fulton County Colored Marriage Book A Index 1866-1878. Batch M712894 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1878-1884 - Fulton County Colored Marriage Book B Index 1878-1884. Batch M712895 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1884-1889 - Fulton County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1884-1889. Batch M712896 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1889-1893 - Fulton County Colored Marriage Book D Index 1889-1893. Batch M712897 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1893-1895 - Fulton County Colored Marriage Book E Index 1893-1895. Batch M712898 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Cemeteries
- Grizzle, R. L. Oakland Cemetery, Atlanta, Georgia [database on-line]. Provo, Utah: Ancestry.com Operations Inc., 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Grizzle, R. L. Oakland Cemetery, Atlanta, Georgia [database on-line]. Provo, Utah: Ancestry.com Operations Inc., 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Westview Cemetery, Atlanta BillionGraves
Church
Baptist
- Semi-centennial History of the Second Baptist Church of Atlanta, Georgia, November 27-30, 1904. Atlanta: Foote & Davies Co., Printers, Binders, 1904?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Nancy Creek Minutes and Memberships 1824-1833 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- First Baptist church of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Druid Hills Baptist Church of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Trinity Methodist Church of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Semi-centennial History of the Second Baptist Church of Atlanta, Georgia, November 27-30, 1904. Atlanta: Foote & Davies Co., Printers, Binders, 1904?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
LDS
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Atlanta
- East Point
Court
Directories
- 1867 - Barnwell, V. T. Barnwell's Atlanta City Directory, and Strangers' Guide: Also, A General Firemen's, Church, Masonic, and Odd-fellows' Record. Atlanta: Intelligencer Book and Job Office, 1867. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1867 - Barnwell, V. T. Barnwell's Atlanta City Directory, and Strangers' Guide: Also, A General Firemen's, Church, Masonic, and Odd-fellows' Record. Atlanta: Intelligencer Book and Job Office, 1867. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1889 - Atlanta City Directory, 1889. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1889 - Atlanta City Directory, 1889. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1890 - Atlanta City Directory, 1890. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1890 - Atlanta City Directory, 1890. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Allen, Ivan. Atlanta from the Ashes. Atlanta, Ga.: Ruralist Press, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Allen, Ivan. Atlanta from the Ashes. Atlanta, Ga.: Ruralist Press, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Allen, Ivan. The Atlanta Spirit: Altitude + Attitude. Atlanta, Ga.: I. Allen-Marshall Co., 1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Allen, Ivan. The Atlanta Spirit: Altitude + Attitude. Atlanta, Ga.: I. Allen-Marshall Co., 1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Atlanta, A City of the Modern South. New York: Smith & Durrell, c1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Atlanta, A City of the Modern South. New York: Smith & Durrell, c1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Atlanta Centennial Year Book: 1837-1937. Atlanta?: G. Murphy, 1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Atlanta Centennial Year Book: 1837-1937. Atlanta?: G. Murphy, 1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Clarke, Edward Young. Atlanta Illustrated: Containing Glances at Its Population, Business, Manufactures, Industries, Institutions, Society, Healthfulness, Architecture, and Advantages Generally, with 150 Ullustrations and a Lithographic Map of the City. Atlanta, Ga.: J.P. Harrison & Co., 1881. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Clarke, Edward Young. Atlanta Illustrated: Containing Glances at Its Population, Business, Manufactures, Industries, Institutions, Society, Healthfulness, Architecture, and Advantages Generally, with 150 Ullustrations and a Lithographic Map of the City. Atlanta, Ga.: J.P. Harrison & Co., 1881. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Cooper, Walter G. Official History of Fulton County. Atlanta: W.W. Brown Pub. Co., c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Cooper, Walter G. Official History of Fulton County. Atlanta: W.W. Brown Pub. Co., c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Hand Book of the City of Atlanta: A Comprehensive Review of the City's Commercial, Industrial and Residential Conditions. Atlanta, Ga.: Southern Industrial Pub. Co., 1898. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Hand Book of the City of Atlanta: A Comprehensive Review of the City's Commercial, Industrial and Residential Conditions. Atlanta, Ga.: Southern Industrial Pub. Co., 1898. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Hornady, John R. Atlanta, Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow. unknown: American Cities Book Co., 1922. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Hornady, John R. Atlanta, Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow. unknown: American Cities Book Co., 1922. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- History of Atlanta, Georgia: With Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Some of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- History of Atlanta, Georgia: With Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Some of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Ivey, John E. Building Atlanta's Future: by John E. Ivey, Jr., Nicholas J. Demerath, Woodrow W. Breland. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, c1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Ivey, John E. Building Atlanta's Future: by John E. Ivey, Jr., Nicholas J. Demerath, Woodrow W. Breland. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, c1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Martin, Thomas H. Atlanta and Its Builders: A Comprehensive History of the Gate City of the South. Atlanta: Century Memorial Pub. Co., 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Martin, Thomas H. Atlanta and Its Builders: A Comprehensive History of the Gate City of the South. Atlanta: Century Memorial Pub. Co., 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Pioneer Citizens' History of Atlanta: 1833-1902. Atlanta, Ga.: Pioneer Citizens' Society of Atlanta, 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Pioneer Citizens' History of Atlanta: 1833-1902. Atlanta, Ga.: Pioneer Citizens' Society of Atlanta, 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Marriages
Marriages from old newspapers (1869-1906) Georgia Pioneers ($)
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Fulton County.
- July 20, 1864 = Peachtree Creek[4]
- July 22, 1864 = Atlanta[5]
- July 28, 1864 = Ezra Church, also known as Battle of the Poor House[6]
- August 5-7, 1864 = Utoy Creek[7]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Rosters of Confederate Soldiers from Fulton County Georgia Pioneers ($)
Newspapers
- 1868, 1875-1876, 1895 - The Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1868, 1875-1876, 1895 - The Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1870-1924 - The Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1870-1924 - The Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1876-1879 - The Daily Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1876-1879 - The Daily Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1904-1928 - Atlanta Independent - an African-American newspaper; full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1904-1928.
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1854-1882 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Will Book A, 1854-1882; Will Book B, 1882-1894 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Annual Returns, Book A, 1854-1861 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Annual Returns, Book B, 1861-1865 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Annua Returns, Book C, 1866-1888 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Inventories and Appraisements, Book A, 1854-1866 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Inventories and Appraisements, Book B, 1866-1883 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Miscellaneous Estates 1870-1935 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Indentures of Apprenticeship 1899-1913 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1854 Tax Digest of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth
- 1886-1889, 1905-1910 - Atlanta Births 1886-1889; 1905-1910 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Marriage
- 1829-1872 - Fulton County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1829-1872. Batch M712881 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1854-1866 - Fulton County Marriage Books A and B Index 1854-1866. Batch M712885 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1865-1894 - Fulton County Marriage Books A and B Index 1865-1894. Batch M712883 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1866-1873 - Fulton County Marriage Book C Index 1866-1873. Batch M712886 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1872-1895 - Fulton County Marriage Books D thru F Index 1872-1895. Batch M712882 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1873-1880 - Fulton County Marriage Book D Index 1873-1880. Batch M712887 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1880-1885 - Fulton County Marriage Book E Index 1880-1885. Batch M712888 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1885-1889 - Fulton County Marriage Book F Index 1885-1889. Batch M712889 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1889-1892 - Fulton County Marriage Book G Index 1889-1892. Batch M712891 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1892-1895 - Fulton County Marriage Book H Index 1892-1895. Batch M712892 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1894-1924 - Fulton County Marriage Books C and D Index 1894-1924. Batch M712884 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1895 - Fulton County Marriage Book I Index 1895. Batch M712893 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Fulton County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Yearbooks
- Oglethorpe University: 1920 - 2008
Fulton County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Fulton County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- Fulton County, GAGenWeb - part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Fulton County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Fulton County Genealogy (Georgia Genealogy)
Fulton County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fulton County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 14:42.
- This page has been accessed 2,133 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

