Fritton St Catherine, NorfolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
FRITTON (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 2½ miles (E. by N.) from Long Stratton. [1]
Fritton St Catherine is an Ancient Parish in the Depwade deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.
Fritton is now part of Morningthorpe civil parish and lies close to Morningthorpe, Norfolk parish.
It should not be confused with the other Fritton parish in the Diocese Fritton, Suffolk
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Depwade 1837-1935
- Part of Morningthorpe in Depwade 1935-1974
- The Register Office, Council Offices, Market Hill, Diss, IP22 3JX.
Tel: 01379 643915. E-mail: registration.diss@norfolk.gov.uk
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 71/ 1-7
http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?register_id=227&district_id=4&document_type=150 Baptism transcripts
http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?register_id=227&district_id=4&document_type=250 Marriage transcripts
http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?register_id=227&district_id=4&document_type=300 Burials transcripts from parish registers Norfolk Transcription Archive
http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?register_id=227&district_id=4&document_type=160 Bishop's Transcripts Norfolk Transcription archive
The images displayed under the way point Fritton include a marriage book 1838-1901 53 images which are for Fritton, Suffolk and have been loaded with other record images for this parish.
Census records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. Find my Past 1911 census search
Poor Law Unions
See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/fritton-st-catherine/ for information about the parish.
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50973 British History online
http://www.paintedchurch.org/frittong.htm st George and the Dragon wall painting
http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/fritton/fritton.htm Norfolk Churches website
Reference
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 266-269. 18 March 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 April 2013, at 20:14.
- This page has been accessed 314 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
