Frating, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Frating

Frating redundant church contributor John Salmon.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Frating, is a parish in Tendring district, Essex; it is 2 miles ENE of Wivenhoe railway station, and 6 miles ESE of Colchester.[1]



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Frating, Essex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1560
1560
Images 1560-1975 EssexAncestors[2] 1560-1952 EssexAncestors[2] 1560-1986 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1560-1753 FindMyPast[3] 1560-1986 FindMyPast[4]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers Microfilm of original records in the Essex Records Office, Chelmsford.
Christenings, marriages and burials.

Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 571179 Item 7

Bishop's transcripts for Frating Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.
Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, no.: D/CR 151.

Baptisms, burials, 1800-1877; marriages, 1800-1839. FHL BRITISH Film 1702315 Item 5

Essex Record Office also hold transcripts for various registers under their T/R references transcript collections.

Census records

1841 Census returns fro Frating are missing.

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 207427. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 15 May 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 15 May 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.


For images and architectural information about the Old Church http://unlockingessex.essexcc.gov.uk/custom_pages/monument_detail.asp?kids=1&monument_id=8283


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 277 times.