Flimwell, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
Flimwell St Augustine of Canterbury is an Ecclesiastical parish formed from a part of Ticehurst, Sussex but which included parts of Etchingham, Sussex, Goudhurst, Kent and Hawkhurst, Kent The village and civil parish of Flimwell is in the Rother district of East Sussex. Flimwell Wikipedia
The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Flimwell St Augustine
The church of St Augustine of Canterbury has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Flimwell Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) includes Providence Strict Baptist Chapel and Ticehurst Union Workhouse Chapel
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collectionsee Ticehurst Familysearch have included this parish in their microfilm collection
Census records
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 October 2011, at 14:25.
- This page has been accessed 97 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More