Fergus County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Fergus County
Guide to Fergus County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Fergus County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 12, 1885 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lewistown |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Fergus County Courthouse 712 W Main Street Lewistown, MT 59457-2562 Phone: 406.538.5119 Fergus County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 12 March 1885 from Meagher and Chouteau
- County seat: Lewistown [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Blaine | Chouteau | Golden Valley | Judith Basin | Musselshell | Petroleum | Phillips | Wheatland
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Lewistown Cemeteries:
- Central Montana Memorial Gardens is located at 809 6th Ave S, Lewistown, MT 59457-3461. Their phone number is (406) 535-7345. So far I've not found an actual website that they have created. However, there are some photographs and memorials for the cemetery at:www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2136719&CScn=central+montana+memorial+gardens&CScntry=4&CSst=28& This cemetery used to be called Sunset Memorial Gardens.
- Lewistown City Cemetery is located at 133 A St., Lewistown MT 59457 Their phone is (406) 538-8512. Some entries are at www.interment.net/data/us/mt/fergus/lewistowncity/lewistown.htm, www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi
- Central Montana Memorial Gardens is located at 809 6th Ave S, Lewistown, MT 59457-3461. Their phone number is (406) 535-7345. So far I've not found an actual website that they have created. However, there are some photographs and memorials for the cemetery at:www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2136719&CScn=central+montana+memorial+gardens&CScntry=4&CSst=28& This cemetery used to be called Sunset Memorial Gardens.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Lewiston
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Newspapers
Central Montana Genealogical Society has newspapers on microfilm. See the Libraries and Societies for their contact information.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records; County Assessor has land records[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
- Central Montana Genealogical Society
Located on the upper floor of the Lewistown Public Library
701 West Main
Lewistown, Montana, 59457 406–538–5212
Website: www.lewistownlibrary.org/genealogy.html
E–mail: gen@lewistownlibrary.org
- Central Montana Genealogical Society
- Resources at the Lewistown Public Library include:
- Central Montana Church Records
- Cemetery and Mortuary Records
- Birth and Marriage Records
- Montana Census Films
- Local Histories and Newspaper Microfilms
- They are very knowledgeable and helpful.
Taxation
Vital Records
Central Montana Genealogical Society has marriage indexes, birth and mortuary records. They also have family histories. Please see entry under Libraries and societies.
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages 1885-1901
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Fergus County Montana History and Genealogy This website is part of the Montanga Genweb and US Genweb projects. It has a lot of links for genealogical research.
- Genealogy Tool Box has many links for genealogy resources.
- Kindred Trails separates the resource website links into categories.
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) There are some Fergus county obituaries listed on this website.
Places
| Lewistown | |
| Moore | |
| Winifred |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2013, at 20:35.
- This page has been accessed 2,214 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
