Førdesfjorden, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Førdesfjord church records are contained in the records from Avaldsnes clerical district from 1893-1969. It became part of Tysvær clerical district in 1969. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
- 1663-1666: Tax lists (Manntall) for Stavanger Amt now Rogaland Fylke.
Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1701: Tax lists (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
- 1801: Census
Avaldsnes clerical district includes Avaldsnes, Førdesfjord, and Kopervik parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
- 1865: Census
Avaldsnes Census This census contains the person's name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Digitalarkivet 1865 -telling for Avaldsnes
- 1875: Census
Avaldsnes prestegjeld This 1875 census contains the person's name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900: Census
Avaldsnes Census 1900 This census contains the person's name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for Avaldsnæs
- 1910: Census
For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.
- 1897-1975 Death Protocol Avaldsnes Digitalarkivet
Lillehammer, Arnvid, "Avaldsnes", Karmøy : Bygdebokutvalget, c1991-1993. 2 vols. 948.31/A3 D2L FHL INTL Book
Farm Book on the Internet
Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.
The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.
You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to email@example.com.
80 Aarhaug 65 Aksdal 79 Aksnes 84 Baardsviken 73 Brathammer 75 Døle 76 Eike nordre 67 Fjeldet 64 Frakkegjerd 72 Førde 56 Hauge 66 Helgeland 87 Helgeland 58 Kallevik 78 Kolnes 80 Myglebostad 81 Mykje 64 Naanes 69 Neseim 70 Nodland 57 Nordtveit 81 Rabben 84 Røksund 63 Skeiseid 74 Skre 85 Snik 68 Stakkestad 80 Stamperpladsen 62 Stave 60 Stegeberg 61 Sørvaag 82 Tuestad 72 Udnarviken 59 Vaagebøen 71 Veim 86 Vormedal 83 Østhus 4 Aasen
- This page was last modified on 18 October 2012, at 13:10.
- This page has been accessed 277 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More