Elmstead, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Elmstead

Elmstead St. Anne and St. Laurence Essex.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Elmstead, is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands near the Roman Stone street, it is 2 3/4 miles SSE of Ardleigh railway station, and 4 miles E by N of Colchester. [1]


Resources

Elmstead Market St Anne and St Laurence is an Ancient parish in the county of Essex. Prior to 1845 it was in the diocese of London subsequently the diocese of  Rochester.

Elmstead Market is a villageand civil parish which for local government purposes is in the Tendring district of Essex. It lies 3 km northeast of Wivenhoe and 6 km east of Colchester. It is on the A133 road which until a few years ago was the main road to Clacton, Frinton and Harwich. The A120 road constructed to bypass Colchester and Elmstead Market has reduced the volume of through traffic considerably.
The internationally acclaimed Beth Chatto gardens are within the village boundaries.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Elmstead, Essex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1559
1557
Images 1558-1896 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1557-1997 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1559-1754 FindMyPast[3] 1678-1997 FindMyPast[4]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Non -Conformist Records

Elmstead Heath Methodist Church records are kept at the Essex Record Office.

Census records

1841 Census returns for Elmstead are missing.

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 207428. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Wilson, John M.,Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, (1870) Adapted 17 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 15 May 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 15 May 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
 



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 16:10.
  • This page has been accessed 407 times.