Edøy, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Norway > Møre og Romsdal County > Edøy
Contents |
Church Records
Edøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Edøy, Brattvær, Hopen and Tustna. Brattvær and Hopen were separated from Aure clerical district in 1749. Tustna was separated from Edøy parish in 1867.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1751-1931.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
Edøy / Brattvær: 1819-1827, 1880-1900, 1909-1925
Edøy / Edøy: 1819-1836, 1909-1931
Edøy / Hopen: 1819-1827, 1880-1906, 1909-1925
Census Records
- 1664-1666: Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes ofEdøy, Brattvær, Hopen and Aure. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801: Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes of Edøy, Brattvær and Hopen. Also available online at the Digital Archives.
- Folketellingen 1835 and 1845 for Edøy. The 1835 and 1845 census for Edøy and Aure is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includse mainly statistical information. Census records for Kvernes, Tingvoll, Surnadal, Stangvik, Sunndal, Kristiansund, Edøy and Aure clerical districts. Includes mainly statistics, but the censuses for Kvernes 1825 and 1855 gives the name of the farm, persons name, age, occupation and some miscellaneous information.
- 1865: Folketellingen den 31te desember 1865. The 1865 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes of Edøy, Hopen and Brattvær. Also available online at Digital Archives as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
- 1875: Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes of Edøy, Hopen and Brattvær.
- 1900: Folketelling for Norge den 3dje desember 1900. The 1875 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes ofHopen, Brattvær and Edøy. Also available online at Digital Archives, as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
- 1910: Folketellinge for Norge den 1ste desember 1910. The 1910 census for Edøy is available online at the Digital Archives, as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.
Court Records
Land Records
Farm Books
Berf, Gudmund Frode, Berg, Aashild, Skjølberg, Erlind, Fredly, Kjell Egil,Smøla bygdebok, Trondheim : Utgitt av Smøla kulturstyre, 1981-1998. A history and genealogy of the people and their farms in Smøla in Møre og Romsdal county. FHL 948.35/S10 D2s A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.35-S10 D2s v2 - SMOLA.pdf
Contents: v. 1. Ålmenn bygdesoge for Smøla : utviklinga på Smøla fram til år 1700 / av Gudmund Frode Berg. Gards- og ættesoge for Smøla : Ytre Roksvåg-Vikan / av Aashild Berg og Erling Skjølberg -- v. 2. Gards- og ættesoge for Hellesfjord - Kråkvær / av Aashild Berg -- v. 3. Utviklinga på Smøla gjennom to hundre år 1665-1865 : gards- og ættesoge for Sandvær - Tranøy / av Gudmund Frode Berg -- v. 4. Gards- og ættesoge for Klakkan - Skomsøy / av Gudmund Frode Berg og Aashild Berg -- v. 5-7. Gards- og ættesoge for Vestmøla / av Nils Tore Leivdal og Kjell Fredly -- v. 8 og 9. Gards- og ættesoge for Veiholmen / av Kjell Fredly -- v. 10. Gards- og ættesoge for Hopen / av Kjell Fredly -- v. 11. Gards- og ættesoge for Steinsøysund og Frostadheia / av Kjell Fredly.
| The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
17 Arnøen 4 Bremnes 13 Edøen 16 Ellevsøen 8 Gjernes 10 Glasøen 6 Hellesfjord 15 Hestøen 24 Jøen 23 Jøstølen 26 Kraakvær 14 Kuli 9 Lerviken 7 Nælviken 11 Otterholmen 21 Rangnes 25 Ringsøen med Draget 19 Risdalen 2 Rokstad 3 Roksvaag indre 18 Rosvold 22 Skjelberg 19 Stranden 20 Strømmen 19 Trætneset 19 Trætviken 12 Tyrhaug 5 Vikan 19 Ødegaarden
Probate Records
1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.
1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery
References
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 April 2013, at 17:12.
- This page has been accessed 433 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
