Eau Claire County, WisconsinEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wisconsin
Eau Claire County
Guide to Eau Claire County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Eau Claire County, Wisconsin | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wisconsin in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 6, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Eau Claire |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Eau Claire County 721 Oxford Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54703-5481; Phone. 715.839.4803 <br |
County Courthouse
Eau Claire County
721 Oxford Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54703-5481;
Phone. 715.839.4803
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1856;
Clerk Court has divorce records from 1856 and court records from 1929
Historical Facts
Parent County
1856--Eau Claire County was created 6 October 1856 from Chippewa County. County seat: Eau Claire [1]
- This county was first known as the town of "Clearwater," being the southern-most township in Chippewa County. Later, it was renamed the "French translation of Clearwater" = "Eau Claire."
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Cities:
Eau Claire: This city is partially in Eau Claire County and Chippewa County.
Neighboring Counties
• Buffalo
• Chippewa
• Clark
• Dunn
• Jackson
• Pepin
• Trempealeau
TABLE: Townships, Cities, Towns, Villages, and Unincorporated Communities =
HOW EACH COLUMN HELPS YOU WITH YOUR RESEARCH:
1. PLACE/LOCALITY column: names the "place" or "locality" of interest.
2. TYPE column: gives type of place or locality (i.e. village, town, city, etc.).
3. FHL CATALOG column: links the "catagories of sources" available in the Family History Library for the place or locality.
4. WIKIPEDIA column: like WIKI, gives background information regarding the place or locality.
5. GOOGLE MAPS column: shows the whereabouts of this place or locality on a map.
6. WORLDCAT.ORG column: shows sources from other libraries/repositories, etc. for this place or locality.
7. US HOMETOWN LOCATOR column: gives current information about the place or locality.
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |
| PLACE/LOCALITY | TYPE | FHL CATALOG |
WIKIPEDIA |
GOOGLE MAPS |
WORLDCAT.ORG |
US HOMETOWN LOCATOR |
| Allen | UC5 | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Altoona1 | City | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Augusta | City | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Brackett | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Bridge Creek | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Bridge Creek | Township | |||||
| Brunswick1 | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Brunswick | Township | Link | ||||
| Candy Corners | UC | Link | ||||
| Clear Creek | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Clear Creek | Township | Link | ||||
| Cleghorn | UC | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| Drammen | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Drammen | Township | Link | ||||
| Eau Claire1 | City | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Fairchild | Village | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Fairchild | Town | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Fairchild | Township | Link | ||||
| Fall Creek | Village | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| Foster | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Hadleyville2 | UC | Link | Link | |||
| Hale Corner | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Hay Creek | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Lincoln | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Lincoln | Township | Link | ||||
| Ludington | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Ludington | Township | Link | Link | |||
| Ludington | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Lufkin | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Mount Hope Corners | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Nelsonville2 | UC | Link | ||||
| Oak Grove2 | UC | Link | Link | |||
| Otter Creek | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Otter Creek | Township | Link | ||||
| Pleasant Valley1 | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Pleasant Valley | Township | Link | ||||
| Rodell | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Seymour1 | Town | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| Seymour | Township | Link | Link | |||
| Seymour CPD3 | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Shawtown4 | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Truax | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Truax4 | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Union1 | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Union4 | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Union | Township | Link | ||||
| Washington1 | Town | Link | Link | |||
| Washington | Township | |||||
| Wilson | Town | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Wilson | Township | Link | ||||
| Wilson | UC | Link | Link | Link | ||
| ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG??? | Link | |
FOOTNOTES FOR CITIES, TOWNS, VILLAGES, and UNINCORPORATED COMMUNITIES:
1 - Indicates a municipality considered part of the Eau Claire-Chippewa Falls metropolitan area
2 - Historical Community.
3 - CDP = Census Designated Place.
4 - Now a part of the city of Eau Claire.
5 - UC = Unincorporated Community in Eau Claire County.
TABLE: SOURCES LINKS
|
SOURCE |
 FHL CATALOG |
HISTORICAL COLLECTIONS |
GENWEB |
COUNTY GENWEB ARCHIVES PROJECTS |
MAPS |
WORLDCAT. ORG |
LINKPENDIUM |
KINDRED TRAILS |
CENSUS FINDER |
LIBRARIES | MY WISCONSIN GENEALOGY |
WISCONSIN GENEALOGY TRAILS |
| Archives | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||||
| Biographies | Link |
Link A-F Link G-L Link M-R Link S-Z Link Other indexes |
Link | Link | Link |
|
Link | |||||
| Cemeteries | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
Link - Index Link - Info |
Link | Link | |||
| Census Records | Link 1905 |
Link 1855 Link 1875 Link 1885 Link 1895 Link 1905 |
1870, 1910 |
Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| Church Records | Link |
Link - Christenings Link - Marriages Link - Burials |
Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||
| Court Records | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||||
| Directories | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
Link - Old Settlers Link - 1932 Augusta |
Link | ||||
| Genealogy | Link - Family Group Sheets | Link | ||||||||||
| Guardianship Records | Link | Link | ||||||||||
| History |
Link - Histories Link - Indexes Link - Periodicals |
Link - Histories Link - photos people Link - photos places |
Link | Link | Link |
Link - Index |
Link | |||||
| Land & Property Records |
Link - Land Link - Maps |
Link | Link | Link | Link | Link - Patents | Link | |||||
| Libraries & Societies | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||||
| Maps | Link |
|
Link | Link | Link | Link |
Link - Index
|
Link | ||||
| Military Records | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||
| Naturalization Records | Link | Link | Link | |||||||||
| Newspapers | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |||||||
| Obituaries | Link | Link | Link | Link - Index | Link | |||||||
| Probate Records | Link | Link | Link - Estate Records | Link | Link | |||||||
| School Records | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||
| Taxation Records | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||||||||
| Vital Records | Link |
Link - Births Link - Marriages Link - Deaths |
Link | Link | Link | Link |
Link - Births Link - Deaths, both Drammen |
Link - Marriages Link - Vital Records |
Link |
Link - Births Link - Marriages Link - Deaths |
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
- Eau Claire Historical Search: This tool searches the local historical databases available at the L.E. Phillips Memorial Library which is maintained by the Genealogical Research Society of Eau Claire.
Cemeteries
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
- Cemetery Burial Records - database of burial records for the cities' two cemeteries - Forest Hill & LakeView. See announcement at Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter.
Census
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
SEE ALSO: WIKI "Wisconsin Census" for more records and links.
- 1855 Wisconsin State Census Free unindexed Internet images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census FamilySearch Record Search Browse unindexed images. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
Church History and Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Court Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Crime and Criminals
Directories
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
- Histories of various locations in this county: Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb
- Old photos of people in this county: Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb
- Old photos of places in this county: Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb
School Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Land and Property
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Maps
- Family Maps of Eau Claire County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Courtesy of the L.E. Phillips Memorial Library:
- Sanborn Digital Fire Insurance Maps: 1883, 1885, 1889, 1897 and 1931
Migration
Military History and Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Naturalization and Citizenship
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Newspapers
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
- At the Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
Societies
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Taxation
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
Vital Records
SEE "SOURCES" Table Above
- At the Eau Claire Co. WIGenWeb
Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
a
Web Sites
General Websites for this county:
- Family History Library Catalog for Eau Claire County, Wisconsin
- Eau Claire County Wikipedia
- Family Search Record Search for Wisconsin
- Eau Claire County GENWEB
- Eau Claire County Archives GENWEB Projects
- Google Web information for Eau Claire County & Google Map of this county
- Eau Claire County in WorldCat.org
- Linkpedium Eau Claire County Genealogy and Family History
- Kindred Trails Eau Claire County Genealogy
- CensusFinder for Eau Claire County, Wisconsin
State Websites for this county:
- L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library in the City of Eau Claire, Wisconsin
- MY WISCONSIN GENEALOGY for Eau Claire County, Wisconsin
- WISCONSIN GENEALOGY TRAILS for Eau Claire County, Wisconsin
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Eau Claire County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 04:59.
- This page has been accessed 5,572 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

