Easthorpe, EssexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Easthorpe
Guide to Easthorpe, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Parish History
Easthorpe, is a parish in Lexden district, Essex; it is 1 3/4 of a mile SE of Marks Tey Junction railway station, and 4 miles ESE of Coggleshall.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | 1572-1812 | EssexAncestors[2] | 1576-1956 | EssexAncestors[2] | 1572-1812 | EssexAncestors[2] | |||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1576-1834 | FindMyPast[3] | |||||||||||||||||
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241372. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex
n 1205 the lessee of Easthorpe manor was exempted from suit to the shire and hundred courts. In 1303 the lord of Easthorpe manor was granted free warren. The few surviving court rolls show that manor courts met infrequently between 1727 and 1794 to deal with routine manorial business such as transfers of holdings, but that none at all met between 1728 and 1737; there were usually two jurors.
Easthorpe's rate of poor relief expenditure per head of population was about average for Lexden hundred. Costs were £54 in 1776, aver- aged £95 in 1783-5, and in 1802 were £285. They fluctuated between £87 and £265 between 1803 and 1818, rose to £311 in 1819, equivalent to 35s. 7d. a head, and then fell to £182 in 1824. Between 1825 and 1830 they ranged between £261 and £173, and then fell to £137, equivalent to 16s. 4d. a head, in 1836.
From: 'Easthorpe: Local government', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 10: Lexden Hundred (Part) including Dedham, Earls Colne and Wivenhoe (2001), pp. 203. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=15236&strquery=easthorpe Date accessed: 12 February 2011.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, (1870) Adapted 17 May 2013
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 15 May 2012.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 15 May 2012.
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 22:03.
- This page has been accessed 315 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
