East Sutton, KentEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
East Sutton St Peter and St Paul is a Grade 1 listed mediaeval church in the village and civil parish of East Sutton, about 6 miles south east of Maidstone, see East Sutton Wikipedia.The parish is in the Diocese of Canterbury see Deanery website ;a map of the parish boundary is available at church near you
The Church of St Peter and Paul, Church Lane East Sutton has been designated a grade I listed building British Listed Building was initially a chapelry of Sutton Valence, Kent and dates from the 13th century with additions and restorations in subsequent centuries. Restorations in 1897-1898 removed plaster from the walls exposing stonework and 1984-1985 brough further restoration. The John E. Vigar Kent Churches website link below illustrates the interior of the church.
See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 375-385 at British History Online and Kent Churches website
The village is small and HM Prison East Sutton is both a prison and a Young Offenders Institution nearby, see HM Prison East Sutton Park Wikipedia.
The village also includes Pleasure House which was home to the liaison of Kind Edward VII and his mistress Alice Keppel.
Resources
Civil Registration
This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district See Maidstone Registration District
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Original deposited registers are held at:
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives
Family History Library film numbers
Sutton, East
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306857. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK. Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Hollingbourne Poor Law Union, Kent
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Local Family History Centre
Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these collections using the portal.
Maps and Gazetteers
SUTTON, EAST (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Hollingbourne, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (S. E.) from Maidstone. [1]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Reference
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 6 May 2013, at 21:55.
- This page has been accessed 447 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
