East Ravendale, LincolnshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
East Ravendale St Martin is an Ancinet Parish which includes West Ravendale.
St Martin church together with the neighbouring school were designed by James Fowler of Louth and date from 1857. The church has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage.
The village and civil parish are six miles south of Grimsby.
"'RAVENDALE, EAST (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (S. S. W.) from Grimsby; containing, with the chapelry of West Ravendale, 112 inhabitants."[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
This parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of Caistor registration district until 1890 reorganisation when it became part of Grimsby registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Ravendale Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ravendale, East
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Initially part of Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire until 1890 reorganisation it became part of Grimsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshre
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England. Published London (1848); URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445
British Listed Building East Ravendale
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 August 2012, at 02:58.
- This page has been accessed 304 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
