Dudley St Augustine Holly Hall, WorcestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
Dudley St Augustine Holly Hall was created as an Ecclesiastical Parish from parts of Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire and Dudley St Luke, Worcestershire
It included Harts Hill Mission Church.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Dudley St Augustine Holly Hall was created as an Ecclesiastical Parish from parts of Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire and Dudley St Luke, Worcestershire
It included Harts Hill Mission Church.
Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1884-1975 Marr 1884-1970 Bur 1884-1961Microfilm for Bap 1884-1942 Marr 1884-1934 Bur 1884-1947 is available.
Harts Hill Mission Church
Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1906-1934 Microfilm for these years is also available
Earlier years records for Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire should be searched for earlier years
Coverage of the Dudley parishes in the International Genealogical Index for the microfilmed years of St Thomas and St Edmund's parishes is generally good for Baptism and Marriage records but will not include data for this parish and index entries for Dudley should be compared with the original record source to establish transcription errors or submission from individuals which may not be based on deposited records at Dudley Archives. It is also advisable to seek burial records from the burials registers which rarely feature in the indexed batches of the International Genealogical Index.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464207. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 August 2012, at 17:26.
- This page has been accessed 246 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More