Douglas County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Douglas County
Guide to Douglas County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Douglas County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 25, 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Minden |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 1594 Esmeralda Ave Rm 105; Minden, NV 89423-0218 Phone: 775.782.9014 Douglas County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county *County seat: Minden [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Alpine County, California | El Dorado County, California | Lyon | Mono County, California | Placer County, California
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Church Records
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Douglas County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.
Land and Property
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the Family History Library Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Douglas – LAND AND PROPERTY
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Douglas County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[2]
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Johnson's Cutoff 1850-1851 (aka Placerville Route, Lake Tahoe Route and Day's Route) from Carson City, Nevada past the south end of Lake Tahoe going south and then west to Placerville, California and Sacramento
- Daggett Pass 1850 (aka Georgetown Pack Trail) Carson Valley, Nevada to Johnson's Cutoff near South Lake Tahoe, California
- Walker River-Sonora Road 1852-1854 from the Carson Trail south to the Walker River along the base of the Sierra Nevada until it ascends to Sonora Pass and then down to Strawberry and Sonora, California
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada through central Nevada on a route south of the Humboldt River][3]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Douglas County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Douglas County, Nevada Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Douglas County Courthouse
1594 Esmeralda Ave Rm 105;
Minden, NV 89423-0218
Phone: 775.782.9014
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [4]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Douglas County Public Library
1470 Albite Rd
Gardnerville, NV 89410
Telephone 775-266-2508
- Douglas County Public Library
1625 Library Ln
Minden, NV 89423
Telephone 775-782-9841
- Douglas County Public Library
Museums
Societies
- Carson Valley Historical Society
Main St
P. O. Box 165
Genoa, Nevada 89411
775-782-4235
- Carson Valley Historical Society
- Douglas County Historical Society
Carson Valley Museum and Cultural Center
1477 U. S. Highway 395 N, Suite B
Gardnerville, Nevada 89410
Phone: (775) 782-2555
http://www.historicnevada.org/index.html
- Douglas County Historical Society
Taxation
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth
Marriage
Over 451 marriages from 11 Feb 1862 to 12 Jun 1919 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Buckeye | Glenbrook | Lincoln Park | Stateline |
| Centerville | Holbrook Junction | Minden | Tahoe Village |
| Dresslerville | Indian Hills | Mottsville | Topaz Lake |
| Edgewood | Johnson Lane | Round Hill | Walleys Hot Springs |
| Gardnerville | Kingsbury | Sheridan | Zephyr Cove |
| Genoa | Lakeridge | Skyland |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 02:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,395 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
