Dorset CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1801 | 114,452 | — |
| 1811 | 124,718 | 9.0% |
| 1821 | 144,930 | 16.2% |
| 1831 | 159,385 | 10.0% |
| 1841 | 175,274 | 10.0% |
| 1851 | 184,380 | 5.2% |
| 1861 | 189,015 | 2.5% |
| 1871 | 195,774 | 3.6% |
| 1881 | 191,028 | −2.4% |
| 1891an. | 194,568 | 1.9% |
| 1891ad. | 191,992 | −1.3% |
| 1901 | 200,311 | 4.3% |
| 1911 | 220,514 | 10.1% |
| 1921 | 224,731 | 1.9% |
| 1931 | 239,352 | 6.5% |
| Note: 1801-1891 Ancient county, 1891-1931 Administrative county Source: Histpop 1931 Census | ||
In Dorset, as with the rest of England, census records that recorded the names of individuals begin in 1841 and every 10 years thereafter.
- Main article: England Census
The earlier 1801 to 1831 census records were mainly statistical. The table shown on the right list the population of Dorset at each census.
- Dorset Census Surname Index - an alphabetical listing of place names within Dorset for which the Family History Library has an index.
| ||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2012, at 08:07.
- This page has been accessed 840 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More