Doniphan County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Doniphan County
Doniphan County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Doniphan County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 20, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Troy |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Doniphan County Courthouse Main Street Troy, Kansas 66087 Phone: 785.985.3513 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Doniphan County Courthouse
Main Street
Troy, KS 66087
Phone: 785.985.3513
Clerk District Court has birth and death reords1898-1910, marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1856.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1858.
A yearly county census is taken.[1]
History
Named for Col. Alexander W. Doniphan, of Missouri. He commanded a regiment of cavalry during the Mexican War, marching across the plains, and taking a very prominent part in the conquest of New Mexico. He was a zealous partisan in the effort made to extend slavery into Kansas.
Parent County
1855--Doniphan County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Troy [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Bendena
Blair
Brenner
Denton
Doniphan
Elwood
Fanning
Highland
Iowa Point
Leona
Moray
Palermo
Purcell
Severance
Sparks
Troy
Wathena
White Cloud
Extinct Communities
Arizona, Belmont Trading post, Bryan, Buffalo, Charlestown, Cold Spring Pony Express Station, Columbus, Cottonwood Springs, Evansville, Fairview, Green Top, Iola, Lafayette, LaPorte, Lawrence, LeRoy, Lewiston, Mount Vernon, Normanville, Palermo, Petersburgh, Rogersville, Smithton, Syracuse, Walnut Grove.
Kansas Heritage gives details on all these locations.
Neighboring Counties
- Andrew County, Missouri
- Atchison
- Brown
- Buchanan County, Missouri
- Holt County, Missouri
- Richardson County, Nebraska
Note: The wandering Missouri River forms Dohiphan's northern and eastern borders separating it from the Missouri counties of Holt, Andrew, and Buchanan. The main population center for the area is St Joseph, Buchanan, Missouri which, because of the meander of the river, almost surrounds the Doniphan town of Elwood. Doniphan's larger towns; Elwood, Wathena, and Troy; all lay in the vicinity of St Joseph, Missouri. It is important to look for records of residence of Doniphan in these surrounding Nebraska and Missouri counties especially Buchanan, Missouri.
Resources
Cemeteries
Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:
- Cemetery record, Mt. Olive Cemetery, Troy, KS, 1871-1913 [AR 6783]
List of Doniphan cemeteries in 1906 according to Transactions of the Kansas State Horticultural Society, vol. XXVIII (1906), pp. 325-377.[3] With additions from Doniphan County, Kansas, GenWeb and Doniphan County Cemeteries. A surname index to many of these cemeteries, "Cemetery Readings of Doniphan Co., KS" by Speedy & Gail Stewart, can be found at Doniphan County Cemeteries.
| Andersons - Denton Belleview Bellemont - Wathena Bitner - Bendena Burrell Carters - Blair Chapple (Abbett) Charleston - Troy Collins Columbus - Wathena Courter-Ritchey - Troy Cowger Denton - Denton Dittemore Doniphan - Doniphan Edwards (Buzard) France (family) Fanning (St James) - Sparks Fanning (Prot) - Sparks German Reform C Gladden |
Hedrick (Jenkins) Highland - Highland Iola - Sparks Iowa Point - Oregon Jackson - Wathena Jordan Creek Baptist Church - Bendena King Hill - Doniphan Lafayette Cemetery and Others - Sparks Lutheran Martin - Oregon McClelland McHamner Moskau - Wathena Moray Mosquito Creek Mt. Calvary - Oneida Mt. Olive - Troy New Hope Oak Hill - Highland Old Home - Troy Olive Branch (White Cloud) - White Cloud |
Palermo Pennell Pleasant Hill Robertsons - Bendena Rosedale (Cordonier) - Gear City Smith Smithon Sollars Springer St. Benedict - Bendena St. Charles (Catholic Cemetery) - Troy St. Mary's - Denton Steanson Syracuse - Fanning Tambor (Hartman) - Wathena Tesson Victory - Bendena Walnut Grove Wolf River Woods Zion (Smith Creek) |
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Wathena
Court - District and Probate
Doniphan County Clerk
(785) 985- 3513 Fax (785) 985-3723
Mailing Address – P.O. Box 278 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address – 120 East Chestnut - South Side 1st Floor - County Courthouse - Troy, Kansas
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
District Court
(785) 985-3582 & (785) 985-3583 Fax (785) 985-2402
Mailing Address - P.O. Box 295 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address - 120 East Chestnut - 2nd Floor County Courthouse -Troy, Kansas
Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:
- Civil appearance dockets, 1858-1923 [AR 6751-6755]
- District court journals, 1858-1918 [AR 6755-6762]
- Judgement docket and record book, 1858-1926 [AR 6762-6763]
- Marriage records, 1856-1921 [AR 6746-6749]
- Naturalization index, 1881-1942 [AR 6750]
- Naturalization certificate stubs, 1925-1928 [AR 6750]
- Naturalization declaration of intention, petitions, and record, 1906-1934 [AR 6750]
- Naturalization final record, 1859-1910 [AR 6763-6766]
- Naturalization miscellaneous citizenship papers, 1905-1934 [AR 6750]
- Probate court index and abstracts, 1855-1938 [AR 6767, AR 6778]
- Probate court journals, 1858-1923 [AR 6778-6783]
- Probate case files, 1857-1917 [AR 6796-6797, AR 6784-6793, AR 6798, AR 7066-7067, AR 11934]
- Will records, 1882-1915 [AR 6767-6769]
- Other probate records, 1858-1935 [AR 6766-6778, AR 6784-6798, AR 7066-7067]
Land
Register of Deeds
Phone - (785) 985-3932
Mailing Address - P.O. Box 73 - Troy, Kansas 66087
Physical Address - 120 E Chestnut Troy, Kansas 66087
Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:
- Indexes, 1856-1908 [AR 6651-6652, AR 6681-6683]
- Deed and mortgage records, 1856-1919 [AR 6649, AR 6652-6683, AR 6698]
- Troy City Cemetery record, Mt. Olive Cemetery, 1871-1913 [AR 6783]
1882 Doniphan County Plat Book
Local Histories
- Bendena Centennial Committee. Bendena, Kansas, Centennial, 1887-1987. N.p.: 1988. (K978.1/-D71/B432).
- Brazelton, Ralph. History of Wathena, Kansas. N.p.: 1978. (K978.1/-D71/ Pam.v.1/no. 4).
- Bridges, C.G. A Sketch of Doniphan County, Kansas. Troy, KS: Bulletin Office, 1878. (K978.1/-D71/ Pam.v.1/no. 2).
- Caldwell, Martha B., ed. "Records of the Squatter Association of Whitehead District, Doniphan County". Kansas Historical Quarterly 13 (Feb. 1944): 16-35. (SP 906/K13q). Available online.
- Cutler, William G., "Doniphan County," History of the State of Kansas. Chicago, IL: A. T. Andreas, 1883. Available online.
- "Doniphan Village Twice Site of Once-Thriving Community", Atchison Daily Globe (2nd). Dec. 11, 1949. [1 p.]. (Reel: A1859).
- Gray, Patrick L. Gray's Doniphan County History: A record of the happenings of half a hundred years. Bendena, KS: Roycroft Press, 1905. (Reel: MF 295, no. 7). See the whole book online; or a complete transcription.
- Historical Plat Book of Doniphan County, Kansas with illistrations. (1882) Chicogo, IL: J S Bird. (Digitized) Along with maps with family names on indivdual plots, this book contains a county history, population, demographics, organizations, government, newspapers, biographical sketches, and more.
- Kansas State Historical Society. Doniphan County Clippings, 1858-1988. (4 vols.). Topeka, KS: KSHS, n.d. (K978.1/-D71/Clipp.).
- ________. Index to Gray's Doniphan County History. Topeka, KS: KSHS, 1974. (Reel: MF 295, no. 8).
- Kercher, Delno. History of Leona, 1885. N.p.: n.d. (K978.1/-D71/Mss/no. 1).
- Lynn, C.P. "Makers of Kansas History: A Series of Sketches of Characters & Events". Ness County News & Ness City Times. May 26-June 30, 1906. [6 pp.]. (Reel: N497).
- Montgomery, Walter B. "Illustrated Doniphan County, 1837-1916". [Troy] Weekly Kansas Chief. Apr. 6, 1916. [386 pp.]. (Reel: T2069).
- Smith, R.F., ed. Doniphan County, Kansas: History & Directory for 1868-9. N.p.: Smith, Vaughan & Co., 1868. (Reel: LM 475, no. 1). Also available on Google Books.
Maps
Plat Book of Doniphan County Kansas. (1904) (Digitized) This atlas includes plats of the townships and largest towns of Doniphan County with the names of landholders. It also includes a patrons' directory.
Historical Plat Book of Doniphan County, Kansas with illistrations. (1882) Chicogo, IL: J S Bird. (Digitized)
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Doniphan County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:
- Missouri River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[4]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[5]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[6]
Military
Men from this County enlisted in 1st Infantry Regiment, Company A.
Newspapers
Kansas State Historical Society houses one of the largest newspaper collections. They have 225 reels of Doniphan newspapers which may be available through interlibrary loan. Titles include Highland Vidette 1892 - 2002, Weekly Kansas Chief 1873 - 1918, Kansas Chief 1920 - 2003, Severance Weekly News 1891 - 1926, Wathena Times 1905 - 2001, White Cloud Globe (Tribune) 1892 - 1946, White Cloud Review 1883 - 1921, and many more.
- Many digitized Kansas newspapers are available online through the Library of Congress Chronicling America project.
School Records
Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:
- Scholastic census, 1892-1916 [AR 6683-6685, AR 6699-6701]
Taxation
Vital Records
Kansas State Historical Society holds these titles on microfilm. They may be available through interlibrary loan:
- Marriage records, 1856-1921 [AR 6746-6749]
- Vital statistics, 1898-1916 [AR 6749]
Societies and Libraries
Doniphan County Library Distict (785) 985-2597
Central Library 105 N. Main / P. O. Box 458 / Troy, KS 66087
Branches:
- Elwood Branch Library (913) 365-2409; 410 N. 9th / Elwood, Kansas 66024
- Highland Branch Library (785) 442-3078; 306 W. Main / Highland, Kansas 66035
- Wathena Branch Library (785) 989-4834; 206 St. Joseph / Wathena, KS 66090
Highland Community College Library (785) 442-6000 505 West Main St. / Highland, Kansas 66035
Doniphan County Historical Society, 105 North Main, Troy, KS 66087
Ma Hush Kah Historical Society, Route 2, Box 16, White Cloud, KS 66094
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project for Doniphan County has maps, histories, and information on local libraries, societies, cemeteries, schools, newspapers, and more.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Kansas on the Net Doniphan County contains a variety useful history and location details about Doniphan County including libraries, schools and government agencies.
- Doniphan County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Doniphan County, Kansas page 250 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Kansas State Historical Society Cemeteries in Kansas, 1906.
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 17:26.
- This page has been accessed 3,412 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


