Donington, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes

St Mary and the Holy Rood Donington Lincolnshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Donington is both a market town and Ancient Parish, the Church of the Holy Rood has a 14th century tower and steeple.

The church contains a memorial to Captain Matthew Flinders who was a young sailor on the Bounty under the command of Captain Bligh.  Later under his own command he mapped part of the Coastline of Australia.

The church of St Mary and the Holy Rood dates from the 13th century with subsequent additions and restorations in 1868 and 1896 and has been listed as a grade I listed building by English Heritage. Search listed building

"DONINGTON (St. Mary and the Holy Rood), a market-town and parish, in the union of Spalding, wapentake of Kirton, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 32 miles (S. E. by S.) from Lincoln, and 108 (N.) from London; containing, with the hamlet of Northorpe, 2026 inhabitants.  There are places of worship for Particular Baptists and Wesleyans."[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Donington sub-district of Spalding registration district Search registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Donington in Holland Par 1 will identify available images.


Search Family History Library CatalogueDonington

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438752. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spalding Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England. Published London (1848); URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 18:06.
  • This page has been accessed 297 times.