Denver Colorado Family History CenterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Denver Colorado Family HIstory Center has served the central Denver metropolitan area and part of Aurora for many years. It was the first such Center in Colorado.
Center Contacts and Hours
Location & Map:
- Address: 2710 South Monaco Parkway, Denver, CO 80224, United States.
- This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
- The Center is located in the building at the corner of Yale and Monaco. The entrance is in the northwest corner of the building. There is ample free parking available.
- Location on Map
Phone: 303-756-0220 (Call during Family History Center hours)
- Tuesday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
- Wednesday 9:00 am - 1:00 pm and 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
- Saturday 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
- Sunday 5:30 pm - 8:00 pm
- Closed March 17 through April 1
- Closed May 12 for Mother's Day
- Closed May 24 through June 3
- Closed the first Saturday in April and October
- Closed June 16 for Father's Day
- Closed June 29 through July 6
- Closed August 31 through September 7
- Closed November 27 through December 2
- Closed December 20 through January 6
Calendar and Events
The Center conducts regular weekly genealogy courses available free to the public. If you would like to be notified of the class schedule, please submit your request by email to: firstname.lastname@example.org.
- May 19 - 6:00 p.m. - Fold3 by Don Moulton
All Sunday classes will be taught at the Yale and Monaco Bldg in rooms 13-15
New Wednesday class! FamilySearch.org's Family Tree in four parts by Barbara Fines Price
- May 15 - 10 a.m. - part 1 - Family Tree on familysearch.org
- May 22 - 10 a.m. - part 2
- June 5 - 10 a.m. - part 3
- June 12 - 10 a.m. - part 4
No class the week of Memorial Day.
The Family Tree classes will build upon each other. The later classes will be difficult without attending the first class. Feel free to bring a laptop or other Internet-capable device.
All Wednesday classes will be taught at the Yale and Monaco Bldg in the Relief Society room along the south hall of the building. Enter at the Family History Center door.
Save the Date!
Barbara Vines Little will be the speaker at an all-day seminar October 19, 2013, at the Denver Colorado Family History Center. Registration will begin in July.
9:30 Why Should I have Every Census Record?—Using a soundex entry instead of the actual census record, skipping the pre-1850 census records because they won't provide additional information, or failing to follow all the living children through the 1880 and later censuses can all result in failure to solve a genealogical problem. Come and see why.
10:45 Femme Covert or Femme Sole: Women and the Law—This lecture covers English common law and its effect on women from the colonial period through the Civil War. A woman, whether servant, slave or free, frequently lost and gained property and other rights based upon her age and marital status. In order to successfully research women, it is necessary to understand these rights and how and under what conditions they changed.
12:00 Break for lunch—Please return 15 minutes before the next class begins.
1:30 In the Beginning: Patents, Grants and Bounty Land—The records generated by these government transactions (pre- and post-colonial, state and federal) can often provide clues to and sometimes actual proof of links between generations. This lecture covers the types of records generated, where to find them and what information to look for.
2:45 Re-creating Your Ancestor's Neighborhood—When researchers hit a brick wall, whether it’s "Where did he come from?" or "Whom did he marry?" the advice is usually the same: Consider the neighbors. Rarely does this advice include a formula for finding the neighbors. The methodology presented here has been developed over a period of some 15 years spent using a variety of maps, land plats, taxes and other records to put an ancestor on the land and identify his neighbors.
- Family History Library Catalog: This Center will assist patrons to order any of the films and fiche available through the Family History Library Catalog. Patrons will place their orders on any computer with an Internet connection using the Online Film Ordering system. The film ordering Web site is located at https://www.familysearch.org/films. There patrons can create a personal account and select the preferred family history center where the films they order will be sent. They can make payment using a credit or debit card, or by PayPal.
- The Denver Colorado Family History Center has a collection of microfilms and microfiche on indefinite loan from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Databases and Software
- FHC Portal This Center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the Center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Hardware and Equipment
- There are personal computers, printers, microfilm and microfiche readers available in this Center for patron use on a first come, first served basis.
- In addition, this Center has a digital imaging system that allows patrons to print or capture selected microfilm/microfiche images on their personal stick drives or CDs.
- Wireless connections are available for personal laptops.
Staff Research Specialties
Saturday morning we have staff members that can assist in Spanish and German
Resources in the Local Area
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
Volunteer at the Center
We are actively seeking people who would like to assist others in family history work. An in depth knowledge of Family History or Genealogy is not needed as we will provide training.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2013, at 21:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,396 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More