Denstone All Saints, StaffordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
Denstone All Saints was formed in 1860 from Denstone a township in Alton, Staffordshire parish, the township of Prestwood in Ellastone, Staffordshire parish and part of Rocester, Staffordshire
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Denstone like this:
DENSTON, a township-chapelry in Alton parish, Stafford; near Rocester-Junction r. station, 5 miles N of Uttoxeter. Post town, Rocester, under Ashborne. Real property, £1, 489. Pop., 241. Houses, 53. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £150. Patron, Sir T. P. Heywood, Bart. A great middle-class school or college was founded in 1869.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Registers for this parish are with the incumbent in the parish and there are no holdings at Lichfield Record Office of Bishop's Transcripts.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Poor Law Unions
Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 May 2012, at 16:52.
- This page has been accessed 144 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
