Dalby, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes
Dalby St Lawrence & Bishop Edward King Lincolnshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Dalby is an Ancient Parish and included Dexthorpe.

The Domesday survey mentions two churches in Dalby which may have included one at Dexthorpe. The mediaeval thatched church on this site was demolished in 1862 and the present church was designed by James Fowler of Louth and the stone of the former church was used. The church was dedicated in October 1862 by the Bishop of Lincoln.

The bell and two monuments to the Llandon family from the predecessor were incorporated. The church was without dedication until 1960 when it was dedicated to St Lawrence and Bishop Edward King.

There are several parishes called Dalby do not confuse with Dalby, Yorkshire Little Dalby, Leicestershire 

 Dalby Isle of Man.

"DALBY, a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3½ miles (N.) from Spilsby; containing, with the hamlet of Dexthorpe, 106 inhabitants."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of Spilsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Dalby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Dalby

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England. Published London (1848); URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 367 times.