Dakota County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Dakota County
Guide to Dakota County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Dakota County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 27, 1849 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hastings |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Dakota County Courthouse 1590 Highway 55 Hastings, MN 55033 651-438-4313 Dakota County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1857, divorce and court records from 1853. [1]
History
Parent County
1849--Dakota County was created 27 October 1849 from unorganized territory. County seat: Hastings [2]
- For a brief history of how Dakota County was named, click here. Then select Dakota County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Apple Valley | Burnsville | Coates | Eagan | Farmington | Hampton | Hastings | Inver Grove Heights
Lakeville | Lilydale | Mendota | Mendota Heights | Miesville | New Trier | Northfield | Randolph
Rosemount | South St. Paul | Sunfish Lake | Vermillion | West St. Paul
Townships
Castle Rock | Douglas | Empire Township |Eureka | Greenvale | Hampton | Marshan | Nininger | Ravenna
Sciota | Vermillion | Waterford
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Dakota County Historical Society Online cemetery records.
Census
- Dakota County Historical Society Searchable Dakota County census databases for the years 1857, 1860, 1865, 1875, 1880, 1885, 1900, 1920, and 1930.
- Dakota County Historical Society Mortality censuses for Dakota County for 1870 and 1880.
- Dakota County Historical Society Native American censuses for Dakota County for the years 1900 and 1910.
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Catholic
- Catholic Church Records for Dakota County The Dakota Historical Society has microfilmed all the records of all the Catholic Churches in Dakota County. Use the searchable index to find baptism, marriage and death records.
Lutheran
Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Farmington
- Records of the Christiana Lutheran Church, Farmington, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Lakeville
- Records of Christiana Free Lutheran Church, Lakeville, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Court
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Land
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Dakota – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Dakota County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
- Dakota Historical Society Brief history of Dakota County.
Maps
- Dakota Historical Society Interactive map of Dakota Co. townships and villages. Click on a township and read its brief history.
- Dakota Historical Society Interactive map of Dakota County historical sites. Click on the map to read details of the historical sites.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Dakota County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dakota County.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies A and G.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies F and H.
- - 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B and F.
- - 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- - 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company G.
- - 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- - 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- - 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies F and K.
- - 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- - Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
- - Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry , Companies C and F.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dakota County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Dakota County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Dakota County Newspapers Directory Links to locations and contact information.
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- Dakota County Historical Society -- Online marriage and divorce records.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Dakota County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Family History Library Catalog
- Wikipedia for Dakota County
- Dakota County GenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Dakota County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dakota County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 00:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,915 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

